Chapter 6.4: The things we knew

Screenshot-68After a few months of research and hard work, Mars had gathered a decent amount of information on vampires. The noteboard in our bedroom was covered with printed pages, post it-notes, pictures and Mars’s own handwriting. There were so many different leads that it was pretty damn hard to figure out what was true and was what not. At least, Mars had figured out a few things that were most likely true, even if it was impossible to know for sure:

  • One becomes a vampire by being bitten by another vampire (well, duh?)
  • Vampires feed on human blood (although we also knew they could feed on plasma)
  • Vampires cannot cross running water (not many sources held this information, but since no vampire has visited our island, we guessed this must be true)
  • Vampires have fangs and pale skin
  • They cannot be out in the open sun for longer periods of time

When it came to information on how to kill a vampire, it was even harder to know what was real and what was not. As far as we knew, not many vampire-killers were known and the ones who claimed they had killed one were always humiliated and mocked on the Internet. However, Mars had found three main strategies for destroying vampires:

  • Burning them
  • Staking them through the heart or mouth (with either a wooden, silver or hawthorne-oiled stake)
  • Decapitation

We knew that we, in order to get rid of the vampires, needed to find out what of this would work, and I think we both hoped it wouldn’t be decapitation. It just seemed like that one would be a bit… messy. But we also agreed that we would do what we had to.

Screenshot-76“I wonder if we could turn one if these sticks in to a stake if we sharpened one of the edges…” I said one Sunday when we had taken just a few hours off from our vampire mission to just hang out. But even when I had a break from actually working on the case, my mind was always drifting towards it.

Screenshot-77“Petite, could we please talk about something other than the vampires some time?” Mars said, clearly annoyed. “I mean, you can of course sharpen a tree stick in one end. It’s not exactly rocket science.”

“Jeez bro, you on your period or something?”

“Shut up” Mars snarled at me. “I’m just getting tired of only talking about that all the time. Could we instead talk about the terrifying fact of me meeting Shamrock’s family tonight?”

Screenshot-79“You are?” I smiled big when I heard what he said. It was really about time that the two of them made their relation official, and I was glad that they had come to that after all this time. Honestly, I didn’t quite understand why they hadn’t already.

“It will be fine, you guys love each other” I continued.

“I’m not so sure…” Mars muttered. “His parents don’t know he’s in to boys, and our parents don’t know that either. Not everyone thinks that’s cool…”

“Well, not everyone thinks vampires exists either and they’re just idiots. Love is love and it’s none of their business if you happen to be two boys or a boy and a girl. If they think otherwise, fudge them!”

Screenshot-81“I’m not convinced they’ll like me more if I tell them to to fudge off…” Mars said and smiled faintly. “No, but really… I actually really like him and I want to make a good impression.”

“Eh, you’ll be fine. Just be yourself, but with a bit less talk about vampires than usual, perhaps. You’re perfect. Everyone likes you.”

Screenshot-82“Dad, did you know that you probably did the exactly right thing when you brought us here?” I said when we had dinner on the porch that night. I had hated our island for many years, but now that I knew it had probably kept us safe for all these years, I felt really thankful.

“It felt right” dad answered. “Or what do you mean?”

“Oh, we just found out that vampires probably can’t cross running water. So we’ve actually been all safe out here. Or, at least we think so.”

“Is that so?” dad didn’t say much more but I could see that something troubled him.

“You’re not happy about it, are you? I’m trying to say thank you here, but you make it hard for me.”

Dad sighed, “You think that is hard? You know nothing about what’s hard. I left everything to get you here, your mother is locked in at a stupid treatment center because she wants to keep us safe, and I left my family and it got my niece killed. We might be safe, but it’s not enough. Nothing will be enough until they’re gone. Nothing.”

Eden didn’t say a thing, he just kept chewing nervously on his hot dog. He rarely said anything, he always managed to keep in the background (which probably wasn’t that hard in this freaky family). It annoyed me that dad got angry at me for saying thank you, and it annoyed me that he thought I didn’t know about hardship. I spent pretty much all my time on trying to overcome the threat that had haunted our family for generations, yet he had the guts to say I didn’t do a thing.

“You’re being so unfair” I said silently. I was so angry that I couldn’t even scream or make a fuss. “I do everything I can to figure out how to beat those things. I hurt from this too and I also miss mom. I don’t find anything in this easy, but I do my best. Why can’t that be enough for you?”

Screenshot-83Dad got silent and I angrily ate without looking at him. However, I could see at the corner of my eye that dad was crying.

“You’re right, that was unfair. I’m sorry” he said after a while. “I just miss her so much. I really want your mother to live here with us. And you just said that she ain’t safe where she is. That none of them are safe on the main island. Right?

“I guess so…” I mumbled.

“And your brother, is he also in danger at the main island tonight, or where is he?”

“On the main island… But hopefully not in danger at all. He’s meeting his boyfriend’s family, is all.” I said it before I thought it through, unveiled his secret with my perfect sense of speaking before thinking.

Screenshot-84“With his boyfriend?” Dad stood up and angrily pushed his chair towards the table so that the plastic legs of the chair bumped in to the table with a loud bump.

“Oh come one” I sighed. “Like it matters if it’s a boy or a girl. He’s in love, you should be happy for him. Now you’re just ridicolous.” It made me so angry to think that dad would care for such a thing. I had always thought of him like an open and accepting parent.

“I don’t fudging care whether it’s a boy or girl” dad snarled. “I only care that there’s anyone at all. Or perhaps you think it’s wise to put someone you love in that danger? The vampires don’t care about love, they only crave blood and death.”

Oh shit. I hadn’t thought about it that way and I don’t think Mars had either. We needed people in our lives that were not just our closest family, but was it really worth risking their lives for? Wasn’t that rather selfish?

Screenshot-89When Mars came home later that night he slammed the front door shut, marched in to our bedroom and slammed that door shut too. Moments later I heard him crying while his fists slammed to the walls of the room. I had never seen my brother so angry before.

“Ey, stop that!” I went up to him and put a hand on his shoulder and when I did he just collapsed in to my arms and cried.

“What happened?” I asked later, when he had calmed down enough to speak. He walked to the window and looked out over the ocean for a few moments before he turned to me slightly:

Screenshot-88“Well that was a fudging mistake. I should have known it was too good to be true. Nothing good ever happens to us. This family is fudging cursed and filled with freaks. We should just let the vampires kill us. Save the world from our presence.”

“Come on, tell me what happened instead, okay?”

Mars took a breath: “Did you know that dad kidnapped a kid before they had us?”

I nodded, they had told us the whole story when we were younger. Why mom was at the treatment center and how they had met there, so we both knew.

“Well, turns out that kid is Shamrock’s older brother, Hunter. Isn’t that convenient? You think his parents were thrilled to see me there?”

“Ouch…”

“Yea, so I guess I won’t be seeing Shamrock anymore.” Tears started rolling down Mars’s cheeks again. “That’s probably for the better anyway, our family is haunted. No one can ever be happy with us in their lives. They’ll just be in danger.”

Screenshot-90I didn’t know what to say. There was nothing I could say. History was what it was, dad had kidnapped that kid when he hallucinated and the family still hated him for it. It was unfortunate and stupid that Mars had fallen in love with their other son. But it didn’t make sense to keep them apart because of something that happened sixteen years ago. And something that Mars or Shamrock hadn’t been part of at all. They deserved to be happy, both of them. But I wondered if they would get their happy end, they sure had a mighty hill to climb first, and I couldn’t know if Shamrock was ready for that. Or Mars, for that matter.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Wow…small world! :O

    Reply
  2. ashaluvschocolates

     /  August 14, 2015

    Hunter and Shamrock are bros?! wow. Poor Mars doh… 😦

    Reply
  3. Oh no. Poor Mars, what luck! I can’t even blame him for feeling like the family is cursed because it sure does feel that way sometimes. Maybe Mars and Shamrock will still be able to see one another though? They’d been meeting up in secret before this point, so why not continue it? Then again, as was also pointed out, anyone they come in contact with they put at risk too, so then was this actually in some twisted, sad way….a good thing?

    Gah, what a difficult situation! And what with the war with the vampires coming up it only seems like it’s going to be even more so. At least they have one another, but I’m sure it will be a great relief once this threat has passed…..

    Reply
  4. Long time no see =)

    Oh boy I have some catching up to do. Feels good to be back. I’m going to read and comment on everything, then come back here and comment again! =D

    Reply
  5. Hello Fru!

    I wanted to let you know that I nominated your blog for the Sunshine Blogger Award! I hope that’s okay!

    https://theleelegacy.wordpress.com/2016/08/15/sunshine-blogger-award-yay/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

