Chapter 5.15: All you can do is run

Screenshot-3910I tried to focus on caring for my babies and to devote my thoughts to their progress instead of my brother’s and Soda’s impending attack. Needless to say, it was impossible. Even as I sat with Petite to teach her new words my mind drifted and I ended up being absent from the moment. I couldn’t let them become soldiers in a vampire army. But how could I stop it?

Screenshot-3911“Vamp-eyh” Petite suddenly said and looked at me with thoughtful eyes. It was the straw that broke the camel’s back and instead of trying unsuccessfully to teach my children the necessities, I placed them in the twin carrier and headed to the treatment center. Myrtle would know what to do. She always knew.

Screenshot-3963“He said we could beat them” I said, referring to Rhubarb, and looked at Myrtle with disbelief in my eyes. Raindrop’s visit had occupied my thoughts ever since it happened three days ago. It was nice to finally be with Myrtle and go through what had happened. She looked sad but still she nodded slowly:

“We can. But not yet.”

“How? When?” I was desperate. The image of Petite and Mars as vampire soldiers were glued to my eyelids and it kept me awake during the nights. If I wasn’t crazy before, then this was certainly capable of driving me insane.

“When the kids are old enough to help. They’re the only ones who can do anything about this. You’ll have to keep them safe until then. It’s the only chance we have.”

Screenshot-3944I looked down at Petite. She was busy playing a game with Makro, which consisted of her crying as loud as she could, and him jumping at her to lick her in the face. She was so small, way too small to be the solution to the problem with my ancestor vampires. It would be an eternity before she could do anything about it and I didn’t know how I could possibly keep them safe if Soda really wanted to get to them. It seemed impossible.

Screenshot-3959When I got back home that day my sister was sitting next to mom in the sofa. When I walked through the door mother clapped her hands together and said cheerfully: “Well, that’s just some fantastic news, honey”. Judging by my sister’s swollen belly, I knew what those news were even without them telling me. However, I didn’t find them fantastic at all.

Screenshot-3950 Screenshot-3949Mars, who had recently learned how to walk, tumbled towards the toy box in the other end of the room and laboriously opened the lid. Once it slammed open, he crawled in to it and messed about for a short while before peaking up the edge with his favorite dinosaur in his hand. His smile was genuine, something that could not be said about the one I tried to master when congratulating my sister.

Screenshot-3960Apparently, Lavender noticed my fake smile because she snapped: “Jeez, I’ll go to the bathroom” before getting up from the sofa and leaving for the bathroom. Mom remained seated and watched how Lavender closed the door to the bathroom before turning to me.

“You could at least pretend to be happy” she hissed quietly.

“I did” I said in protest and shook my head.

It was silent for a short moment before mom began to cry. “There is something fudging wrong when I cannot be happy about my daughter’s pregnancy” she sniffed. I agreed. Something was incredibly messed up in our lives. And now I needed not only to worry about my own children, but also about Lavender’s coming child.

“This is not on you” said mom, as if she could read my thoughts. “You have your family. Lavender can take care of herself.”

“But she doesn’t know” I said.

Screenshot-3958Mom never got the chance to reply because Lavender opened the bathroom door at that moment.

“What is it I don’t know?” she asked and sat down next to mom again. I shook my head and picked my kids up again and went upstairs. This was not a conversation I wished to participate in. It was not on me, like mom had said. As I left the room I heard how mother begun telling Lavender about Raindrop’s visit and Myrtle’s visions but once I got upstairs, I closed my eyes and focused on what I needed to do, for myself and my family. I could not stand to listen to how Lavender panicked. I had enough on my own plate.

Screenshot-3912Lava came to our house a few weeks later. Sun was just setting behind the hills and the twins had just been put to bed when he walked up to our front door. I saw him from the window and went down to meet him before he would manage to ring the bell.

Screenshot-3922I was not happy to see him.

“Long time no see” Lava grinned, perhaps in an attempt to make me feel better about his presence. It did not work.

Screenshot-3921Instead, I thrust my index finger to his chest, ignoring the part of me that told me to be careful. “You are not welcome here!” I hissed.

Lava stumbled backwards by the force of my finger, which, I supposed, meant it had taken him by surprise.

“I want you to leave. Now.” I continued and took a step forward to minimize the distance between us again.

“Easy now” Lava growled and his sharp fangs glowed in the corners of his mouth. It did not frighten me. All I could think of was that I needed to keep my children safe.

Screenshot-3923“Leave my property” I hissed back and took another step towards him and tried to make myself look as big as possible. Lava growled again, but his eyes showed hesitation.

“I did not come to fight” he said. “I came to warn you.”

“I don’t need your warnings!”

Screenshot-3924Lava suddenly exploded. He took a step closer to me faster than I could react to and his face was close to mine in an instant. “Then you’re stupid, Yew. My mother knows about your babies and she will get to them if you’re not careful. She’s stronger than anything you know. There’s nothing you can do to stop her. All you can do is run. And even that won’t help forever.”

The anger ran off me. Lava uttered the worries I had kept hidden within me ever since Raindrop first came to warn us. If Soda Pop wanted my children, there was nothing I could do to stop it. I was only an insane ‘bow who pretended he knew how to care for babies. The hopelessness overwhelmed me and I did what anyone would do when being told that their family is doomed.

Screenshot-3934I blamed the messenger.

I should have known I would get my ass kicked by my vampire brother, but in the moment I did not care. I wanted to hurt him. Bad.

“Just try to not let her catch you” Lava said before he escaped after kicking my butt.

Screenshot-3968It took me quite some time before I dared leaving my kids even for brief moments, but after some time mom reminded me that she had managed to keep me and my siblings safe throughout our entire life so Petite and Mars would be safe with her. In the beginning I left them just for short times, but as days passed by I slowly dared leaving them more and more. Mom was a great babysitter and my kids would be safe with her. I hoped.

It did me good to get away for myself now and then. If not only to not be driven insane with worry and stress from raising the twins. They were adorable, but also demanding.

Screenshot-3969Most of my lone time consisted of me getting in my boat and rowing out on the sea. I found that the sea breeze and the sound of the clucking water calmed my nerves. Also, I felt safe out on the sea. Untouchable.

Again, I found myself dreaming of a future in which me and Myrtle could be married and live with out children on one of the smaller islands surrounding the main island. I was almost sure that we would be safe out there. Lava and Soda Pop would never find us out there, would they?

Screenshot-3966It came as a shock when I saw the tiny island in front of me. From what I could see where I approached, it was barely nothing except a small, grass-covered slope. My heart beat faster as I got closer. I had never been out here before, and from the maps I had seen of the area, there should be no islands out here. Yet, there, before my eyes, was a perfect little desert island. I rowed around it and found that the other side was more flat.

Perhaps flat enough to build a house on, I thought to myself.

I jumped in from the boat to swim the last bit to the island and dragged the boat after me in a rope secured in the front. I went ashore on the flat side of the island and pulled the boat up. Once there, I tied the rope in a palm tree swaying in the wind. Except for a few palm trees, some bushes and a small pond, the island was empty. It was really not much to see, but in my eyes it was the greatest treasure I could imagine. An island that only I knew about, an island that was absent from all local maps and on which I could build my family a house and a future life. It was the island that would keep us safe.

Screenshot-3049“I found it!” I yelled even before I came in to Myrtle’s room at the center. Her eyes opened up and she raised one eyebrow.

“What, Yew?”

“I found an island and we will be safe there” I continued, still too excited to notice that Myrtle herself were far from happy. “I’m going to build us a house there and then we can live there and be safe. It’ll be great!” I could not remember the last time I felt so positive as I did to my newly born idea. In my head, nothing could go wrong.

Screenshot-3962“I hope you’re right” Myrtle said and looked down. There was a faint smile on her face, but it was hard to tell if it was genuine or if it was filled with worry. Her hands slowly caressed her stomach and a few quiet moments passed until my excitement had settled enough for me to notice the swelling her hands were moving over.

“You’re pregnant?” I questioned and the excitement ran off me in an instant and was replaced with the far too recognizable worry that had filled my life for the past months. I wanted another child, but the world our kids were born in to were dangerous and it felt almost selfish to bring more lives in to it.

“I’ve never seen this island” she said and looked back up at me. It knew it was an attempt to sooth my nerves, but it helped nonetheless. If she hadn’t seen my island in her visions, it was actually possible that it would work. I could bring my family there and we could raise our kids in safety until they were old enough to put a stop to whatever Lava and Soda Pop were up to.

“You haven’t?”

Screenshot-3957 Screenshot-3956Myrtle closed the distance between us and wrapped her arms around my neck and I drowned in her eyes.

“I knew you would find a way to keep them safe” she whispered before closing the gap between our lips.


Author’s Notes: It was quite the surprise that Yew found the deserted island when he went out with his boat. He was on his way to some park, I think, when he stumbled upon it. Actually, it happened quite some time ago, but I thought it would be a nice solution to how to keep his family safe once the vampires returned. I don’t know if you guys have played with IP much and found the different islands, but this one is really tiny. I’ve built the house on it, but it can just barely hold the small family.

Also, as mentioned in this chapter, Myrtle cannot always predict the future and sometimes even she gets surprised by some events. She knew all along that Yew would keep their babies safe, but she did not know how. I imagine her being a bit worried that it took him so long after the twins’ birth to come up with a plan. Perhaps she was even starting to doubt her own vision. That was why her new pregnancy was worrying her. 

And my last note for now; I really hate the Fighter roll. I’ll never play it again. I don’t like keeping enemies for my sims. 😦

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. It’s pretty bad when even evil Lava comes offering warning. O_O
    In other news, can I go ahead and offer up a vote on Petite as heir? I adore her!

    Reply
  2. Wow I was not expecting Lava to show up to warn him. I’m thinking it could be one of two things. Trying to gain his trust to let him in the house or because, no matter what, Yew is his brother and he loves him regardless of what Soda Pop says. I’m so happy Myrtle is pregnant again.

    Reply
  3. Oh, I’m so glad that Yew found a way to keep his family safe—and marry Myrtle! I’m pretty curious on just what it is the twins will be able to do that will stop the vamps. And Lava, I was both happy and sad to see him appear again. I still hope he comes to his senses, it seems like a positive sign that he came to warn Yew. (As long as it wasn’t a trick anyway, lol)

    Reply
  4. I’m not sure whether or not to be relieved or concerned that Lava came to warn them. A part of me hopes it isn’t a trick, but I have this nagging feeling that it is :S

    The babies are so precious! I think Petite is definitely my favourite thus far, but I guess we’ll have to see how I feel when their new baby arrives!

    Lovely chapter! ❤

    Reply
    • We’ll see about Lava. 😉

      Petite is my favorite too because of the coloring. I tend to not get any of the “new” parent’s genes in the babies so it’s always nice when it shows off.

      Reply
  5. Yay for Yew finally finding a solution. I don’t imagine it will be easy getting Myrtle out of the center though. Tangerine always wants to accompany them whenever Myrtle is allowed to go on outings (Slate too). Should Tangerine allow Myrtle to leave with the condition of regular check-ins, it won’t take Soda long to find that little island. They’re going to have to sneak her out one night and disappear. It’ll also be hard living in seclusion from his other family, especially if he wants to protect them too and they won’t all fit with him. I have a feeling his solution lies on a hard road ahead.

    Reply
    • You’re right! It won’t be easy with life out there because of the very reasons you stated. However, it’s a lot better than what they have now.

      Reply
  6. AliH

     /  August 25, 2014

    Hooray for the secret island, but I don’t like that Myrtle hasn’t seen it – especially since she’s pregnant again.

    Lava’s visit and his warning worry me a lot, I can’t think of any reason for him to do that which would be good for Yew and the rest of the family

    Reply
  7. Lava seems a rather conflicted sort now, doesn’t he? On the one hand, there is clearly a part of him that cares for his family and wants to see them safe, but on the other hand, from what we’ve seen, he’s made little to no attempt in stopping Soda Pop either, and even willingly joined up with her in the first place. It definitely makes me wonder about him.

    How fortunate though that Yew found that little island! I love how Myrtle wasn’t even able to predict that ^_^ And how sweet that she’s pregnant again! So far they’ve had the cutest babies ever ❤

    Lastly, I may be looking into this too much, but why would Petite have said the word 'vampire'? I'm guessing that Yew probably wasn't asking her to say the word, so I have two guesses: either 1.) she's just heard the adults tossing the word about, or 2.) maybe she has some kind of gift like her mother and that's why she and her siblings will be the key to stopping this take over!!!! Or maybe not XD I do have fun thinking out the possibilities though.

    GAH though, it's so bittersweet that I've caught up! This blog has me so drawn in and I took for granted the ability to just click to the next chapter immediately to find out what was going to happen next. Looks like I'll have to wait like the others now too, lol.

    It's okay XD This blog is worth the wait. Plus, I totally couldn't focus on writing my own DITFT blog (http://differentwinters.wordpress.com/), because I was so busy reading this!!! Time to go back to some writing of my own XD

    I can't wait to see what happens next! This is truly a fabulous blog ^_^

    Reply
  8. Whoa. It’s kind of nice that Lava came to warn Yew, but his warning was scary in that he said Yew could never do anything but run. I wonder what Myrtle meant about the kids will help later with the vampires. O_O

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

