Generation Finale: Belonging

Screenshot-1638Gone.

Just like that, gone.

It had been weeks since we realized that Lava had gone missing and we had made the entire town search for him. The searches only led us to the conclusion that Lava had, in fact, left on his own will. After everything we had done for him, after all the love – he had still just left without saying goodbye. He was with mother now. We had seen it ourselves when we went there to ask for him. And he was not coming back home. It pained me to admit, but he seemed happy there. With mother, Thunderbird and Raindrop.

I did my best to stay strong for the rest of my family but it was hard. I had lost a son. Berrian had lost a son. And our kids had all lost a brother. It wasn’t strange that we all felt bad about it. Our family wasn’t whole without Lava. We really missed him.

In a strange way, this what pretty much what me and Berrian wanted of our kids. We wanted them to grow up and make choices for themselves, be who they wanted to be and make any mistakes themselves and learn from them. I hoped that Lava would learn that being with mother was a mistake before it was too late. And even if a part of me thought that we had done everything we could with Lava, I still wondered if we could have done more?

We learned from it. We learned that we could always do more in telling our kids about who we saw them as and better at treasuring them for who they were. Accepting that they were different and that it was something good. With Lava, we had done everything we could to make him live outside of his vampirism and that had clearly not worked. That was why he was with mother now, he wanted to be a vampire.

Screenshot-1636And because Lava had run away from us, we realized that we needed to tell Mulberry of who he was. What it was that made him different from us and from his siblings. It would do us no good dodging his questions. He deserved to know. He needed to know, in order to grow up and be satisfied with himself. And that was why Berrian bought home a telescope and told Mulberry to stay up late. He was going to show him.

I watched as Berrian guided Mulberry towards the telescope and a rush of love flowed through me as he put his own hands on top of Mulberry’s and gazed up in the sky together with him. “There are so many stars” Mulberry said fascinated.

“And planets” Berrian added. “I was there once.”

“You were?” Mulberry had a hard time believing it, I could tell. He was always very careful and quiet, our youngest son, and he was not much for stories or fantasies. He was, in fact, a very down-to-earth and hands-on little guy. He believed in facts, nothing else.

Screenshot-1637“And you are from there, too” Berrian continued. “Somewhere out there, on a planet where the trees are yellow and purple and where there is no grass and the waters are almost green. And almost every one living there has the same green skin color as you do. And they have those big, beautiful dark eyes. Just like you.”

“So I don’t belong here?” Mulberry had a  sad tone to his voice and Berrian instantly placed his hand on his back in a comforting gesture.

“Just because you’re not from here doesn’t mean you don’t belong here. You’re my son and I love you. And Coral loves you too.”

“Is she not my mother?” Mulberry asked and glanced over towards where I was sitting. It stung a bit, but it was not him pushing me away. He simply tried to understand.

“She is not your biological mother, but she is still your mother” Berrian explained.

Screenshot-1635“It’s so big up there” Mulberry said after a while. Berrian had left him on his own to discover the endless and mighty night sky, though we were still seated just next to him. He needed us at this time, and we were not to let him down.

“Can I ever go and see that planet?” Mulberry asked later and I did not know what to answer. Was it even possible?

“We don’t know how to get there” Berrian confessed. “I wish I could take you, but I don’t know how. They picked me up and brought me there and I don’t know how. Perhaps they will pick you up at some point, too.”

“I hope so, I think I’d like it there. With all the stars,” Mulberry said and went back to gazing up towards the stars. I hated the thought of Mulberry leaving to be with his kind. It was far too alike what Lava had done and if it was true that me and Berrian failed to meet our kids for who they were, that would be the biggest failure of my life. I hated to think about the world as a place only for the ones who fit the norm. I surely hoped that we had come longer than that. My ancestors hadn’t fought for nothing, had they?

Screenshot-1644And it was around the same time that Yew told me and Berrian about the plans he had together with Sonic of moving to a new town once he had celebrated his birthday. I mean, we wanted our kids to discover life and all the possibilities offered, but I had hoped they would all do it a bit closer to me. I hated the thought of them all leaving me. I needed them.

Yet, I couldn’t do anything but encourage the dreams they had. And because of that, I smiled when Yew said he was looking for a house. I smiled even though the thought of him being an eternity from us broke my heart. I had always treasured family and therefore it hurt to think that ours were breaking apart. Be it that it was of free will and for the better of my kids, but we would no longer be together.

Screenshot-1641I spent as much time as I could with Yew in the time leading up to his birthday and I learned a lot of it. Mostly about him and his dreams, but also about things I’d rather not think about.

Yew had a habit of documenting his life, and the walls of his rooms were covered in pictures he had taken around town. Every now and then he switched them around to show some new happenings or new experiences. It was a way of following his life when I went in there to watch the pictures. One day a new, big photo had taken a place on the wall. At first, I didn’t understand what it was that I saw, but slowly it became clear to me that Yew’s newest picture was of Raindrop. And she looked just like a vampire. She had the glowing eyes and the bite mark on her neck. It scared me. I knew a bit about vampires by now and I knew for instance that one did not simply become a vampire. Someone had turned her, and I figured that someone was most likely my son.

Screenshot-1643I thought about the meaning of it by myself at first, but couldn’t for my life figure out what it meant. Lava had most likely turned his friend. But was it her wish? Was it Lava’s wish? Was it perhaps mother’s wish? And why would anyone want to turn a sweet girl like Raindrop? Whatever reason, it scared me.

Berrian said it was nothing. Raindrop and Lava wanted to be together so naturally she had to become a vampire too, but I wasn’t so convinced.

A while later we saw another vampire in town. It wasn’t someone I knew or had typically noticed before but it was a vampire for sure.

Screenshot-1642I discussed the matter with my siblings too. It worried me to no end that new vampires were seen around town and I was fairly certain (though, I couldn’t know for sure) that it was mother and Lava who was behind it all. I tried to get in touch with Thunderbird but he never answered my calls.

Watermelon was worried too. After living with Celeste and her children for all these years they had become her family. Now, Raindrop was a vampire and that meant they had lost one of their daughters. And Bittersweet told me that she sometimes heard sneaking outside her house in the nights. She worried for her dogs but not for herself. And Salmon, he worried of course. He worried as much as I did, for he had kids too. Two young sons who he would do anything to protect. He had a family of his own and he wouldn’t let anything hurt it. But we all agreed that we knew little about how to protect ourselves from vampires, should we ever need it. All we had done previously was to run from it.

Even Lavender, who couldn’t have remembered much of how we previously moved around to get away from mother, worried. “Will we have to move again?” she wondered and I didn’t know what to answer because I didn’t know myself yet. I could not understand what it all meant.

Screenshot-1645Yew celebrated his birthday much too soon. I was still wrapped up in my worry of what had become of Lava and the rising of the vampires in our town. So far, they didn’t seem as a direct threat but I worried what might become of it. I worried so much that I forgot to think about Yew’s aging and his upcoming move. And so one day he just stood there in front of us, all grown up. “I’m leaving now” he said and gave Berrian a piece of paper with his new address on it.

Berrian looked so sad when he watched our son leave the house and I almost thought he would start to cry. I almost started to cry, too. Our first-born, already grown up and ready to live his life. “Isla Caramello” Berrian whispered and showed me the address. “That’s light years from here.”

Screenshot-1646He was right. Isla Caramello was a far way from here and that meant we would get to see our son far less often than we would have wanted. I couldn’t contain myself and ran through the front door only to shout after him: “Don’t forget to call and write. We will miss you!” Yew stopped before the taxi that awaited him and turned around to look at me. He opened his arms and invited me in to a hug.

“I’ll be fine” he said comforting. “And you’ll be too. I’ll write often. I like to write.”

“See you, son” I said and let him go. It was time for him to chase his own dreams. We would all be fine.


Challenge notes: This is the end of Coral’s generation and next chapter will be written from Yew’s POV. Coral hasn’t fulfilled her Deadbeat Parents roll yet so we will see more of Yew’s siblings. In my game they are all living in the same house in Isla Paradiso, but story-wise Yew lives with Sonic in IP while Coral and the rest of the family is still in Fondant Fields. This will all be connected story-wise eventually. It will hopefully make sense by then.

Also, I haven’t written much about Coral’s career at all but she has really been slacking in-game, too. She’s just not a working-type. 

I’m going to England 16th to 30th of November and have no gaming computer there. Therefore, Yew’s story won’t start until I get back home. I have something very special planned for this generation and hopefully it will be worth the wait! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. N’aww the beginning was really adorable. I’m going to miss Coral’s gen because it has been simply beautiful and just overall wonderful. I think it’ll be sad to let her go but at the same time I imagine it will be great moving onto Yew.

    Ahh, so the Lava has already begun his vampire making spree.

    I hope you have a nice time here in England, where abouts are you heading?

    Reply
  2. Ooh! Have fun in England! You do realise we’re supposed to have tonnes of snow around that time, right? I hope your flights still go as planned and you’re not disrupted by the weather!

    I’m sad to see Coral go 😦 I loved her peaceful, calm demeanor, she had a lot of love and even though she thinks she’s failed raising her kids, I think she’s done beautifully. We don’t know much about Yew just yet, and am excited to see what kind of ‘bow he is and what you have in store for him in Isla Caramello!

    Reply
  3. muffinsims

     /  November 14, 2013

    Have fun in England and congrats on making it to 5 generations!

    Reply
  4. Just wished to say, Blizzard Twist will be appearing in my legacy because I fell in love with him! I’m not sure which generation he’ll pop up in though. Currently isn’t in the story but when you get back from England, hope you get a chance to read 🙂 http://lightofcolors.blogspot.com/

    In another news, I LOVED reading these legacy so far! And definitely will put it on my list of a favorite 🙂 It sucks that Lava left, I hope things get better!

    Reply
  5. nirar

     /  November 18, 2013

    I hope you have a lovely and fun trip! =)

    What a nice way to tell Mulberry where he came from. I’m glad that something good came from Lava’s choices, even if it was Coral’s renewed determination to show her kids that they were treasured for who they are. I hope Lava figures out sooner rather than later that Soda is not the best example to follow! Come on Lava—you’re a smart guy!

    I look forward to seeing what Yew gets up to. =)

    Reply
  6. Have fun in England! We need to catch up sometime, once you are back, of course. :]

    Coral’s generation was beautiful and I cannot wait to see what you have in store for Yew. I love him already, and he was my favorite of the heirs, so I am excited for it to start once you get back. Have an amazing trip and stay safe!

    Reply
  7. That’s sad, but of course it would affect Coral and their family. And in hindsight, a little selfish of Lava, even if they hadn’t been exactly right in trying to avoid much of his vampiric nature. I’m glad it led to them being more open with Mulberry. He needed that.

    Looking forward to the next generation of Twists!

    Reply
  8. I really loved Corals generation she was great and I’m sad to see her go.
    I wonder what you have in store for Yew 🙂

    Reply
  9. Great finale! Have fun in England. Wow… the army of vampires is starting. I wonder how far Soda and Lava will get and how much their actions will affect Fondant Fields, and Yew, if it does affect him at all since he’s moving far away.

    Reply
  10. I am caught up to here, and can’t wait to get to know Yew!

    Reply
  11. I’m finally caught up with all of your past generations! I really don’t like Soda, so I hope Lava doesn’t become too corrupted by his mother. I liked him in this generation. It will also be interesting to see what happens to Mulberry, if he stays or goes back to his home planet. I hope to see more of them, even if the legacy is going to focus on Yew now.

    I’ll post on each entry from now on. I haven’t for the past generations, but I just wanted you to know how thoroughly I enjoy your storytelling and your legacy! ^^

    Reply
    • I’ll try to show some of the other family throughout Yew’s generation but I usually find it a bit hard to keep up with the siblings once I’ve moved on. There will be some of them showing up now and then, though.

      Reply
  12. Such a lovely generation! I’m kind of excited now because I’m finally on your current generation, although it looks like you’ve already made your way fairly far into it. Better for me though, honestly–that means I still have a good chunk left to read, and I love this blog 🙂

    Another generation super well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

