Chapter 4.15: Impossible

Screenshot-1350I was going sick with worry when we lost Berrian, of course. I paced around our tiny little camper, forbidding any of the kids to even step outside until I knew it was safe out there. Occasionally I sat looking towards the sky, trying to understand who or what was behind Berrian’s abduction. The answers I came up with was just about equally frightening.

Screenshot-1351Lava was great during these days. “He’ll be back, I’m sure” he said comforting and even though I knew that he couldn’t possibly know anything about it, it felt good.

Yew and Rhubarb didn’t understand it like Lava did. Perhaps because they had not witnessed their father disappearing in the night as we had. But they asked, every day Berrian was not with us they asked. “Where is daddy?” “When is dad coming home?” And what could I say? I didn’t know. Was it better to be honest and tell them that or was it better to lie to protect them? I hated not knowing and I hated the fact that Berrian was not here to make the decision with me.

“I don’t know” I answered truthfully in the end. At least truth would not come back to haunt me, and perhaps we could all help each other to get through it.

I can’t tell you how we did get through it, but the three days Berrian was gone felt like an eternity. But then on the third day he just stood there outside the camper, smiling his typical adventurous smile. He looked happy.

“I was so worried!” I cried and threw myself in his arms. Berrian held me close and stroke my hair but constantly smiled behind my back. While I had been worrying sick he had just experienced the adventure of his life and since I knew him so well, I understood that he was happy about what had happened. Especially since he seemed to be just fine.

Screenshot-1352 Screenshot-1353The kids all hugged him too for just as me, they had all missed him. And of course, they had been worried too. Little Rhubarb followed his father around for a few days afterwards, refusing to let him out of his sight. I would have done the same thing if I could, though I needed to take care of my own things as well. Gardening and kids, mostly.

A few weeks after Berrian’s return he started having horrible stomach pains. It, no doubt, worried me. And in all honesty, it seemed to worry him too. “I don’t know what they did up there” he confessed and described how they had run several tests on him. He showed no sign of regret or fear, though, and perhaps it was still an adventure to him. To me, it was just worrying. Nothing else. And I hated the fact that I now had to worry for both Berrian and Lava. It was a hard job.

Days passed and Berrian’s pains did not go away. In the end I succumbed and decided we needed to go to the only doctor I would ever trust – Tosca.

Screenshot-1327It was the first time we went back to Fondant Fields in many years and it was weird being back. It honestly scared me like crazy for it was an idiotic opening for mother to get to Lava, but Berrian needed care and my herbs had done no good. So we went back home. Mother’s pride stood shining in its yellow color like it had always done. It was impossible to understand that no one had lived in that house for years. It looked so cared for, which meant Bittersweet, Salmon and Watermelon had all been visiting it frequently to keep it in shack. For times like this, when me and my family needed to go back. I loved them so much for everything they did for me.

Screenshot-1302Berrian’s stomach pains had gotten worse for each day and by the time we came back to Fondant Fields, he himself was quite worried too. It was hard to believe his story about aliens running “tests” on him, but then again our oldest son was a vampire – so it wasn’t like supernaturals was a completely new phenomenon to us.

Screenshot-1333Tosca and Salmon came over to our house as soon as we asked them and I like to think that it was mainly because they had missed us and just secondly because Berrian needed their help. Seeing their familiar, smiling faces was a blessing. I had missed them so much during the last few years and just seeing them in the same house as me again made me fall in to tears.Β However, our welcoming ceremony didn’t last very long for Berrian suddenly had awful cramps in his stomach and had to go lie down. Tosca followed him in to the bedroom to take a look at him.

She poked his stomach at various spots and Berrian ouched and aowed when necessary. All the time I stood anxiously by the side of the bed and my eyes played ping-pong between Tosca and my man. “It’s impossible” Tosca mumbled once she had taken a step back from Berrian and I stared at her wondering exactly what it was that was impossible.

“It really can’t be. Unless it was impossible, I’d say you’re pregnant” she said with a tone that revealed that she didn’t believe her own words.

“So that was what they did” Berrian mumbled in response, as though the fact of him (HIM!) being pregnant wasn’t the most shocking news we’d had since Lava came in to our lives.

Screenshot-1306No matter how shocking it was, it soon became clear that Tosca was right. I recognized many of my own symptoms in Berrian and did what I could to repay the favors he had been doing me during my pregnancies. That included cooking the weirdest types of food. Spaghetti and Ice cream? Don’t ask, he simply needed it. It also included foot massage (which can’t have been nearly as bad as for him to give it to me after a life of walking around bare foot) and back massages. And sex. I don’t get the ‘bows who refrain from having sex during pregnancies, and luckily Berrian didn’t either. There’s nothing so relaxing as giving yourself completely to your partner.

With Berrian pregnant and us having no clue of what that meant or what would happen we decided that, despite mother, we would be safer in Fondant Fields where Tosca could come check on Berrian if needed, than on the road. While it was scary to think that we were in the same town as mother again, it still felt good. I was in the same town as Bittersweet too, and boy had I missed her!

Screenshot-1309I tried to be supporting as Berrian’s belly swelled up and I really tried to not think it was weird. I liked to think that whatever was thrown upon us was just there to deal with. And we did. But I’ll admit it was tough and I was scared about it. Berrian was too, of course. Neither of us had heard about male pregnancies before and just the thought of the actual delivery was enough to get the most strong-willed person freak out. We simply refrained from thinking too much about it.

The whole situation got even more delicate when we discovered that I, too, was pregnant.

Screenshot-1360 Screenshot-1361On top of that, Yew started showing signs of being a bit… strange. It wasn’t weird considering the family situation we had. Knowing that your brother is a vampire and discovering that your father was abducted and pollinated by aliens could do that to anyone. I saw him talking to himself at times, but not as the regular “Where did I put that?” but whole conversations. And when he entered such a conversation it was nearly impossible to get in touch with him. I could practically stand right in front of him, waving my hands before his face without him noticing me.

We didn’t do too much about it, simply figured it was a phase he was going through. We knew that somehow personality problems had a way of solving themselves once you found out who you really were and what you wanted of life. Whatever was going on in Yew’s head was clearly a part of him finding himself. No matter of his strange personality he was perfect – just like all of our kids.

Screenshot-1307In fact, Rhubarb too had a way of playing and talking to someone clearly only he could see. It was probably more common in his age though to have imaginary friends than it was in Yew’s. Perhaps it was a result of never having a real home and the chance to make actual real friends that did this to my children. Perhaps it was something completely different. Most likely it was nothing to worry about.

Screenshot-1313When it was time for Berrian to deliver his baby he freaked out. In all the years we had been together, I had never seen him so scared or so pained. It was weird almost knowing what he was feeling but then at the same time have no clue. We did not know what to expect, how was the baby supposed to get out? Was it even a baby in there?

“Aaaarrrhhaaaa!” Berrian cried and I laid my arms around his shoulders, breathing with him while calling for Lava to call Tosca.

Screenshot-1311Tosca never had time to get to our house, and even if she had done so, I don’t know what she would have done about it. She was just a doctor, not a midwife. She never had time to get to us, for just a few minutes after the pains had hit a strange green glow sparkled around Berrian’s swollen stomach. He tried to grab his belly, curious and scared to what was happening but the green glow laid like a shell around the stomach preventing Berrian from touching himself. It honestly freaked me out too but I tried not to show any fear. We would get through this, we got through everything together.

Screenshot-1315A few moments later the green glow disappeared again and a little boy, looking surprisingly normal, crawled through a hole in Berrian’s stomach, placing itself in his arms. The whole then healed with a speed that was out of this world and Berrian soon stood with a little green skinned baby in his arms, showing no signs of having been pregnant just minutes ago. It was completely surreal and amazing.

“I… I am a mother now” Berrian said and a warm smile spread in his face. He had always loved all of his children, but I could tell that there was something special about this little one. It wasn’t weird at all. He had, after all, carried this one inside him for several months. They knew each others heartbeats and each others rhythms. I knew exactly how it felt.

“Can I see him?” I whispered and Berrian carefully handed me the baby. He was so light in my arms. And he looked at me with his huge black eyes and I realized that you needed not to deliver a baby yourself to feel like it was yours. To feel that you would love it with what power you could. This was my son, even if it wasn’t.

“I want to call him Mulberry” Berrian said and hugged us both. It wasn’t a name I would have picked for him but it was a nice name. Mulberry Twist – our supernatural and impossible little miracle.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Aww, this was a really adorable chapter!!
    I’m glad everything went smoothly for Berrian and I’m really excited to see what Mulberry looks like.

    The kids are so adorable, already! Yew, is just precious though. I’m guessing he has the absent-minded trait?

    It’s nice to see the house again. Even though it’s full of sad memories. For some reason I love the little touches of Soda around the house. It gives them a chance to remember the times when Soda was not a blood-thirsty monster.

    Reply
    • Yew actually has the Insane trait. I never really use that in my gaming style so I figured I would let him use some of it.

      Reply
      • Of course he is!
        I’m looking forward to seeing how you write his character πŸ™‚

  2. Awww!! I never thought I’d say that about an alien birth, let me tell you!
    I like how he gave birth! I’ve always thought of it coming out of… yeah, you know where I mean, but this was was a lot cleaner and very sim πŸ™‚

    I’m glad Soda hasn’t made an appearance yet, and I hope she stays away at least long enough for Coral to give birth, and Mulberry to settle.

    Can’t wait to see how these final two babies turn out, I’ve not had an alien yet, so it was nice to see the process first πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Haha, funny how they were pregnant at the same time. I love how you wrote the whole alien birth, it even seemed natural, lol

    Yew is so cute (lol), insane sims are fun to have around. They are always doing something strange!

    I’m looking forward to seeing how the last 2 babies turn out! Maybe your alien baby will get some of her dad’s genetics, mine only ever looked alien.

    Reply
  4. Wow. I’ve not had an alien pregnancy in my game before, but Sunny told me that the males only get fat, not really the pregnant morph. Berrian certainly looked fat! And how funny that they were pregnant at the same time. I can’t wait to see how this one grows up.

    Now, can they get out of Fondant Fields without incident from Soda?

    Reply
  5. I wonder… is Yew insane? He is, isn’t he? That would be very interesting to see you write out… very interesting indeed…

    Now if only they can let both Mulberry and Coral’s coming baby grow up without Soda swooping in and messing everything up again. >.<

    Reply
  6. LOL I love the insane trait. I’m happy Berrian came back. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

