Chapter 4.10: Caretaker

Screenshot-1092It felt as if someone had turned my life upside-down and shaken the container after the confrontation with mother. The night after was pretty much sleepless and I found myself tossing and turning even though Berrian kept his arm around me the entire night. The next morning I sent Watermelon and Salmon off for school without telling them of the events that had taken place the night before. I would of course tell them, eventually. First, I wanted to visit Bittersweet and tell her about it. It was crazy to think that I had watched her father getting killed by our mother.

When we arrived at her house Romeo was already there and judging by their facial expressions, they had already heard the news.

Screenshot-1094“I never knew him” Bittersweet sighed. Her eyes were red as if she had been crying, which honestly was the right thing to do. “I suppose it shouldn’t matter, but it does” she said and Romeo started stroking her back.

“I’m sorry sister” I said. It was a poor attempt to comfort her but I knew that there was nothing I could do. No words would bring her father back or make her mother a decent berry.

Screenshot-1093I had never felt awkward around these people before. The room consisted of my best friends and most beloved ‘bows in the entire world, yet an awkward silence filled the room. The only thing to break it was the occasional sighs from Bittersweet and the sound of skin brushing against clothes as Romeo stroke her back.

“It happened fast, I’m sure he didn’t feel any pain” I said after a while. Another poor attempt at providing comfort. It didn’t matter, Bittersweet only glanced at me quickly before going back to staring in to the wall in front of her.

Me and Berrian stayed for an hour or two but there was nothing anyone of us could do to make it all feel better. In the end Bittersweet commanded that we go home before Watermelon and Salmon got home to an empty house. We would have some explaining to do once they got home, that was for sure.

Screenshot-1172Telling my younger siblings about what had happened proved to be a lot easier than talking to Bittersweet. Salmon had no memories of mother what-so-ever and merely reacted to the very fact that his mother was a murderer. Watermelon in her turn already despised mother so the news simply added to the hate she was already feeling. I promised myself I would keep being the best substitute mother I could for my siblings, they would sure need it.

The next few days were a blur of arranging a secret funeral for Precious (who had been taken care of by Thunderbird and whom the town therefore knew nothing about), supporting Bittersweet and caring for my younger siblings while also trying to get back to a normal life myself. I knew it would never be the same again after watching my mother so cold-hearted kill a man, but I had to make the best out of it.

When the spring festival was upon us I decided to make it a family outing and we did our best to pretend that we were all alright.

Screenshot-1098Watermelon met up with her best friend Celeste, who I had got to know fairly well by now. Celeste had the misfortune of getting pregnant in her early teenage years and had decided to keep the baby. A few weeks before the whole incident with mother she had given birth to a little baby girl named Surf. Whenever Watermelon looked at the little baby there was a spark in her eyes which I had never seen before and my sister seemed to soften up to that little one in a way that was not like her usual character. It was satisfying to see, to say the least.

Screenshot-1099Salmon in his turn met up with a girl from his class who I had never met before but of whom I had heard lots of things. Tosca Thorn was a cute girl with a face full of adorable freckles, who seemed to have a personality which was nowhere as soft and cute as her looks. From what I understood Salmon was having some pretty strong feelings for this girl but he was unsure whether she felt the same way. I kind of wondered what that was like for I had never experienced a first love which wasn’t mutual.

Screenshot-1100Me and Berrian stayed at the back for a while to make sure both Watermelon and Salmon were alright. It was quite fascinating to just stand there holding hands watching my younger siblings interact with ‘bows they cared deeply for.

Tosca soon took Salmon’s hand and pulled him with her indoors which made him blush and quickly stumble after her. Watermelon needed no guardian while she was with Celeste so when Salmon was no longer to be seen me and Berrian went indoors to amuse ourselves, too.

Screenshot-1109Inside the festival building there was a “love machine” which said it could measure how true the love between two berries were. Of course it was simply a way to rob the festival visitors of their money, but me and Berrian decided we had to try in non-the-less.

When Berrian’s hand touched mine electricity ran through my body. Even after all the time we had been together, I was still just as in love with him as I had been the first time. If this machine didn’t explode by our touch it was sure broken.

Screenshot-1110It was silly, really, but when the lights climbed to the very top of the machine – letting us know our love was burning – both me and Berrian started clapping our hands. It wasn’t like we didn’t know our love was pure before, but it still felt good.

It also felt good to forget about the tumult in our lives and feel genuinely happy for a short moment.

Screenshot-1106When we turned around we saw that Salmon was in the rollerskating rink with Tosca and they were holding each other’s hands and skating around in a circle. It sure was sweet to watch them and whenever Salmon’s face was turned towards us I could see how a big smile covered his face. It was nice to see him smiling despite everything that had happened the latest time in his life.

Screenshot-1108Me and Berrian stood and watched Salmon spinning around with Tosca for a long time before Watermelon came running  towards us and asking if it was alright that she headed back home. Celeste had to leave to put Raindrop to sleep and Watermelon felt no need to stay now that her best (and only) friend had left. I was still worried about her, but she did seem happier than she used to, so I said she could go and promised to be back home before too long.

Screenshot-1111I didn’t intentionally follow Salmon and his friend around, but the festival building wasn’t very big and they didn’t try very hard to hide from my curious eyes so I did catch the two of them holding hands on the upper floor later that day. I found myself wishing their relation would work out well and made a mental note to make sure Tosca wouldn’t hurt my younger brother. He deserved to be happy for he was the sweetest young boy I could think of.

Screenshot-1112Not that Tosca seemed to have any intention of hurting him for she too smiled and looked happy as their arms swayed from one side to the other. It was incredibly sweet to watch really and I almost felt jealous for not experiencing that young love that the two of them seemed to do. I had never had time for love or friendships during my teenage years and seeing before me what I had lost was sad. Then again, the love I had experienced – and still experienced – was far greater than any young love could have ever been. There was no reason for me to feel sorry for what had been.

Screenshot-1113Before we left for home, Salmon found the courage to steal a kiss from Tosca. I almost let out a loud “Naaw”  but managed to control myself. Instead, I squeazed Berrian’s hand extra hard and felt extremely grateful for everything that still was in my life.

Perhaps life wasn’t perfect and perhaps I had the worst possible mother, but there was still so many things to be grateful for.

Screenshot-1139When we got home Watermelon had placed herself in the mud bath in mother’s spa in the back of the garden. She sure didn’t seem too upset about the latest events since she could do such a trivial thing as take a relaxing mud bath. That was good, of course.

Screenshot-1177Even though our life was pretty much turned upside-down by mother’s actions Berrian kept being restless and eager for new adventures. He behaved exemplary the first few weeks and was a great support for our entire family but once the initial shock had blown past he started planning a new trip. I was eager to go with him too, for I desperately needed to get my mind on something brighter than the last weeks incidents but I was also hesitant to the idea of leaving Watermelon and Salmon alone at home.

In the end, Berrian came with the idea of letting both Watermelon and Salmon go with us to China. Once that was decided I couldn’t wait until we were on our way.

Screenshot-1118Just as when we had been to Egypt, Berrian arranged a camp for us to live far from the normal tourist spots. It was a beautiful spot just steps from a breathtaking waterfall. The climate was a lot more humid than it had been in Egypt but way hotter than back home in Fondant Fields.

As soon as we stepped on the soft grass of the camping spot I felt the troubles from back home disappear to the very back of my head and an adventures lust and excitement took its place. It was indeed a very welcome change.

Screenshot-1122We begun our vacation with grilling some lunch over the open fire. Both Watermelon and Salmon looked happy to be here and I was already starting to believe that this vacation was the best thing we could have possibly done in our situation. Back at home Bittersweet had Romeo, so she would be fine.

While we sat by the fire Berrian told my siblings some of his tomb exploring stories which made them both eager to come with us to one of the tombs close by. Berrian promised to teach them as much as possible once we were there.

Screenshot-1123Later that afternoon Berrian lead us all to a tomb close to our camp. According to his words it was a great tomb for beginners and would therefore suit both me and my siblings well. I suspected it wasn’t exactly the most exciting adventure for him but he seemed glad to take us all.

When we got down in the dark and moist tomb I quickly realized what he had meant the last time we went exploring and he told me that it was easy to see the leads once you knew what to look for. Huge statues stood along the walls and on the ground you could see areas that were lighter than the rest of the floor – a clear sign that it was something special about it.

Screenshot-1124Berrian commanded Watermelon to move the statue towards the lighter spot on the ground and her whole body lit up when she got a task as important as that. She used her full strength to even be able to move the statue but not once did she ask for help. When the statue started to move we all clapped our hands and Watermelon gained new strength which helped her get the statue in place. A rumble was heard and soon after another part of the floor sparkled slightly.

Screenshot-1126“What was that?” Salmon wondered, eyes wide with what could be either fear or curiosity. It surprised me how calm I felt myself for the last time I had been exploring with Berrian I had been a lot less relaxed.

“It was the sound of us being on the right track” Berrian smiled. “Salmon, do you see that stone in the floor that looks a bit different from the others. Go stand on it.”

Screenshot-1125After searching for the right stone for a little while, Salmon found it and placed his feet steadily on it. At first nothing happened and Salmon looked as though he was ashamed, perhaps he thought he had somehow failed.

“You might be too light, jump a little” Berrian said and Salmon did as he was told which caused a loud breaking sound in the room. Just seconds later a hidden door was revealed in the far side of the room and we all went through it.

Screenshot-1127The next room was small and huge piles of rocks and stones laid in the corners. A wooden door was locked securely by a giant rusty padlock. Watermelon and Salmon looked around curiously, mesmerized by the splendor of the place. I myself felt a bit taken, too. It was amazing to think that these places were built eternities ago.

Berrian did not stop to take the surroundings in, though, and instantly started to dig through one of the stone piles. It looked sweaty but once the stone started to give in a marked floor tile was revealed so I suppose it was worth the hassle. Berrian himself stood on the marked spot and a hole appeared in the wall next to Watermelon.

Screenshot-1128Screenshot-1129After a nod from Berrian she reached her arm in to the hole, at which I held my breathe for the memory of Berrian’s insect covered arm came to my mind. Watermelon almost had her full arm in the hole as she searched for something. When her hand touched something solid her face first turned in fear but when she realized she could pull it she smiled and looked victorious.

With a click the giant padlock opened itself and fell to the ground, leaving the wooden door unlocked and free for us to enter.

Screenshot-1130We came in to another small room with a strange pool in the middle. The water inside the pool looked surprisingly fresh and clear. Yet, this was the first time Berrian told us to step back and let him handle the puzzle that would lead us forward. “We’ll have to swim down this well” he said and nodded towards it while keeping his arm out to prevent us from getting too close. “Sometimes they’re awefully deep and I’ve even encountered obstacles on the way to the other end. I’m sure there is another end, though, there always is.”

Screenshot-1131Before I could say anything or try to stop him, Berrian had jumped high in the air and dove down the pool with a big splash. Watermelon went up to the pool and looked down after him but announced directly that she could not see him.

Salmon looked at me with fear in his eyes and I tried my best to stay calm although it felt like an eternity before a door appeared in the wall next to us. We stayed in the room with the pool until Berrian came back the same way he had disappeared with a big stone statue in his hand and a content smile on his face. “Finders keepers” he grinned before leading us through the newly open door and back to the camp.

Screenshot-1132The next day we took my siblings to the kind of exploring I had found I enjoyed the best in Egypt: We went to pick fruits and vegetables from the local open gardens. I could see quite clear that none of my companions enjoyed this kind of traveling as much as I did, but no one complained and they even helped me pick the fruits.

Watermelon found some kind of wooden doll which Berrian told her was a martial arts training dummy and once he had showed her the little he knew of the chinese sport she was hooked. While the rest of us tasted the exotic fruits she had several boxing rounds against that dummy. She seemed happy and that made me happy, too.

Screenshot-1135When we got back to the camp Berrian and I took some time for ourself inside our tent while Salmon and Watermelon prepared the fire so we could cook up some dinner. I felt no need to hide the fact that me and Berrian had sex with each other for I considered it such a natural part of any ‘bows life.

Life is too short to not do the things that makes you feel good. That was my most important motto.

Screenshot-1136After a fire roasted dinner we remained seated by the fire just talking and wathing the flames play with each other. I was curious to what my siblings thought of the relaxed way of living that came with traveling and exploring and was pleased to know that they had both had a good time.

Watermelon’s favourite experience had been the martial arts dummy while Salmon’s had been the tomb exploring.

All in all, it had been a good trip but when it started to close in to our journey home, the stress about mother slowly came back. I did not want to go back to that, it had been way too good to forget about it for some time. Still, I had a garden at home that needed my care. And both Salmon and Watermelon had friends they needed to get back to. I wouldn’t uproot them by deciding to stay traveling, even if that was what both me and Berrian really wanted.


Actually, Celeste has three babies already. Surf is the middle kid. Her older sister is named Raindrop and her younger sister is Baby Blue.

And how cute is Tosca, who Salmon was paired up with on prom? I can’t wait to see them two produce some babies. ❤ And speaking of babies… Generation 5 is on its way!

Also, while traveling I bend the rules for “Home Made” since I let my sims eat raw ingredients simply grilled over a fire. I reckon that’s fine since the time away doesn’t really count since they don’t age. They still cook everything from their own ingredients while they are home. 🙂

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. When Bittersweet and Romeo got left behind while everyone else went to China, my heart literally like stopped. I got so scared that Soda was going to eat them that I had to pace around the room for a bit to keep reading! I’m glad this was a happy chapter, though. It was really well written and a great breather after the Sugar Valley Soda Pop massacre.

    Reply
  2. Fru, do not get any ideas this time. If you let Soda eat Romeo and Bitter, I’m boycotting!

    It’s nice to see Watermelon relaxing and being happier though I imagine she still has a long way to go.

    Reply
  3. Yay! She’s pregnant!

    Ah, I wondered about the mention of different names, Surf, and Raindrop.
    You’re right, Salmon and Tosca will make beautiful babies! I love the combination of their coloring.

    Great shot of Berrian jumping into the dive pool. I think my favorite part of this chapter was seeing Watermelon open up finally. She seems softer, more at ease with things now, and hopefully it made her feel special to the family that Coral and Berrian brought her and Salmon with them to China. What an adventure!

    As an aside, I’d also like to say that I admire Coral’s wholesome attitude toward sex. It is natural, and isn’t something to hide or be ashamed of in a mutual relationship such as hers and Berrian’s.

    Good chapter, it was fun to read. I know you’re about to be busy soon, but I hope we’ll find out what’s going to become of the situation with Soda at home.

    Reply
    • Argh, I thought I had changed the names everywhere in the chapter. My mistake! But yes, Celeaste has three kids.

      I can promise to get at least one more chapter out before work starts. 🙂

      Reply
  4. I’d say grilling over the fire counts, because you clearly pick the food yourself anyway.

    It was lovely to see Watermelon happy for once! And get to meet Salmon. What a great idea Berrian had to bring them along! Just what they needed.

    Celeste has three children at teen stage?! Wow… What mod is that with? Twallans SP?

    She’s pregnant?!?! WOOWOOWOOWOOWOOOOOOO! 😀 Can’t wait.

    Reply
  5. Awwww. This chapter was really sweet minus the whole dealing with Soda’s actions part. I really love everyone and I hope they all find true love/happiness. I am super excited that Gen 5 is on it’s way ANDDDD I do not think you broke homemade. x] I don’t even know how you do that one. If I ever role it I am going to skip it – it’s the one roll I just cannot see myself doing. Too much of a hassle so I think you’re awesome for being able to put up with it.

    Reply
  6. I am glad Watermelon got to have some fun, that poor girl always seems to be unhappy. It’s so sweet that her and Berrian are so in love, awww. I’m in agreement, that this was a sweet chapter. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

