Chapter 4.8: Animal attacks

Screenshot-1002When Romeo first asked Bittersweet out on a date she had trouble believing it. Romeo was friendly, smart, funny and good-looking. To think that he would want to date her was amazing. 

They met up in the northern central park, outside the town’s sports bar, The Waterhole. Bittersweet felt a little nervous when she stood waiting for her date, thinking he might have changed his mind and not show up at all. Of course, Romeo did show up and when he did he greeted her with a hug. He was a bit nervous too, because he really liked Bittersweet and he desperately wanted the date to go smooth.

Screenshot-1009As the true gentleman he is, Romeo had of course brought his date some flowers. Hand picked, of course. In fact, he had picked them on his way to the park – which was the reason why he was a little late.

Screenshot-1010Bittersweet loved the gesture and she closed her eyes and inhaled deeply to let the scent of the flowers stick in her nose. When she opened her eyes again Romeo looked at her with warmth in his eyes and a kind smile on his face.

Bittersweet could not help herself, if Romeo wanted to be with her he would have to deal with her silliness anyways and she put the flowers on the ground and reached out for him. “You’re it!” she cried as her hand touched his arm and then she ran.

Screenshot-1005She ran until she was out of breath and had to lean over to regain it. And that was when Romeo caught up with her and gently put his hand on her shoulder. With a laugh he said: “No, Sweet, YOU are it.”

Screenshot-1006After that it was Romeo’s turn to run and Bittersweet simply laughed and started chasing him. She thought to herself that if Romeo truly enjoyed this childish little stunt of hers, she would have to be careful to not let him slip. This was exactly what she needed in a man.

Screenshot-1008Before Bittersweet managed to catch up with Romeo he stopped and turned around so that Bittersweet nearly bumped in to him when she was trying to come to a stop herself. Romeo thought of the last time he had been running with a girl with the last name Twist. That time he had been completely naked and absolutely in love. Yet, this time felt a lot better.

“I don’t know about you but I’m getting a bit tired of running” he said and panted a bit. 

Screenshot-1011Bittersweet just looked in to his eyes. She wondered where their pink color came from. Did Romeo have a pink father, or a perhaps a pink mother? Perhaps that piercing pink eye color went even further back. She found herself wondering if she would ever get to know. “What should we do instead” she asked and was surprised herself to realize that she spiced her voice with a flirty tone.

Screenshot-1007Romeo caught the tone in her voice and felt his heart flutter as he did. He did not quite understand why he felt so nervous around Bittersweet because he was usually a very social and charismatic man. And he had been in love before. At least he thought so.

“I happened to notice that they have a foosball table in the pub over there” Romeo said and nodded towards The Waterhole. “And I am currently undefeated at foosball. Would you dare to face me?”

“Challenge accepted” Bittersweet grinned.

Screenshot-1014The two played foosball until darkness enveloped the town. Bittersweet found that she genuinely laughed and smiled several times in the company of Romeo, which meant she really enjoyed spending time with him. Actually, she couldn’t quite remember when she had last had this fun. She had no chance of beating him in foosball, even though Romeo refrained from playing at his best. 

Until Romeo asked her out, Bittersweet hadn’t thought of him as anything but a friend but after spending the day with him she was slowly starting to change her mind. The smile that remained on Romeo’s face even when she showed her most childish part told her that he was exactly the type of man she wanted. It told her that she had a life ahead of her which would be more than caring for her younger siblings and running her mother’s home. There was a place for her, Bittersweet Twist, somewhere.

Screenshot-1016Once they both grew tired of the foosball game they headed out to the pub’s porch where they sat down. Unsure of what the other one was thinking, they both considered the date as a really successful one. There hadn’t been much flirting and there had been no touching, yet they both thought that there was some kind of chemistry between them. 

When they sat next to each other, they would have heard – had they really listened – that not only one heart but two beat faster than what was normal. When their eyes met as they looked to the side just to steal a look at the other, they both blushed and looked away again.

Screenshot-1015Seeing that Romeo also tried to steal secret glances at her, Bittersweet found enough courage to place her hand on top of his. It was the first physical touch between the two and it was followed by moments of awkward silence. None of them dared to move until they were sure whether the touch was desired by both parts.

Screenshot-1018Romeo broke the silence eventually and leaned backwards, tilting his body slightly closer to Bittersweet’s. “I’ve had a great time” he said.

“So did I” Bittersweet agreed.

Screenshot-1019They remained seated on the porch until one of the employees at The Waterhole told them that they had to leave. When that happened, they took company home and went their separate ways, finding their place in adjacent bedrooms. Romeo fell asleep with a smile on his face. Bittersweet did too.

Screenshot-1004While Bittersweet and Romeo were off on their date I decided to give Taxus and his family a visit. First of all because I needed to keep myself busy to not be all too nervous for Bittersweet and Romeo’s sake, but also because I hadn’t met my nephew since he celebrated his birthday and because I had a new little niece who I couldn’t wait to get to meet.

Taxus and Hyacinth had failed to find a place of their own which they liked enough to raise their family and ended up moving in with uncle Loquat in what I had learnt was our family’s first real home. It was a simple and small white house with a lot of charm.

Screenshot-1003Hyacinth was just feeding little Citrine when I came though the front door and she had a proud, content smile on her lips as she watched her little baby eat peacefully from the bottle.

“She’s always falling asleep while eating” she whispered and motioned for me to be quiet. I nodded as a sign of my understanding and went closer to just look at the little baby girl. Like her elder brother, Citrine had the yellow skin of Hyacinth’s mother Canary and a tiny cute little nose in the middle of her face. She was adorable.

“She’s so cute” I whispered and touched her head gently. Hyacinth nodded without taking her eyes off her precious little daughter.

Screenshot-923“I cwute too” Mystery said with a light and happy voice by my feet and I bent down to pick him up.

“Oh yes, you are really cute too, Mystery. Auntie’s little cutie!” The boy giggled as I lifted him in to the air.

Screenshot-991“Tell me everything! How was the date?” I pretty much attacked my sister as soon as she came through the front door after her date with Romeo. A big smile played on her lips, which was hopefully a good sign.

She turned around and slowly took her shoes off before once again turning towards me, still smiling as she did. Then, a sigh escaped her mouth. I hoped it was a content sigh and not one that meant her date with Romeo had been a disaster.

Screenshot-994“It was great” she finally said and I could breathe out. It was a true relief to hear my sister talk about the date with my other best friend as a pleasant experience.

Screenshot-926A few days had passed since Bittersweet’s date with Romeo, and Berrian had started planning another trip for us. I loved travelling, I really did, but I also enjoyed being at home to care for my garden and siblings so I did what I could to calm my man down. Of course, I would go with him at any time, but right now my siblings needed me more than ever. Especially Watermelon. I wouldn’t leave her behind this time.

Screenshot-1001“I’m going to look at a house today” Bittersweet told me while I was doing the dishes. She didn’t even look at me from behind the newspaper when she told me and I dropped the plate I was holding down the sink and watched it break in to two pieces.

“You are what?”

“I’ll be moving out, I think. It seems like a nice house, it’s just in the centre of town, right behind Sweet Pastry, you know?” Slowly she folded the newspaper and looked at me. I must have looked quite perplexed. At least I felt that way. I didn’t want her to move out. “You had your time away from here and I need it to. We’ll still help each other out, of course. But I have to get out. Get some air under my wings. You understand, don’t you?”

I did understand. Of course I did. But that did not mean I wanted her to move out. How would I cope without my baby sister? But I said nothing about it, instead I asked her if she wanted me to go with her to look at the house. She looked incredibly happy that I asked, and that made me happy too. I had Berrian after all, I would be fine.

Screenshot-999After the short conversation and my blessing about her moving out, Bittersweet unfolded the newspaper again and started reading where she had stopped earlier. “Did you read this article about the animal attacks?” she wondered. “I find it so weird. Like, how can they blame the animals when all we do is push them out of their homes? Wouldn’t you fight if someone threatened your territory?”

“I haven’t read it yet” I said. “What does it say?”

“Apparently they found two bodies last night at the foot of the river. Torn to pieces, it says. But it doesn’t make any sense. No animal kills unless it feels threatened. And you know what’s gonna happen? I do, even if it says nothing in the paper. They will hunt those animals down and they will kill them. It’s not right. We push the animals out of their homes and when they try to defend themselves they get sentenced to death. I can’t stand this.”

My sister was clearly upset, which made sense since she was such an animal lover. She had a point, too. This town used to be cornered with forests and trees but as the town grew the forests were cleared and the animals who lived there had to find new homes. It annoyed me too, but there wasn’t much we could do about it now. Those animals had killed berries and we both knew that they would have to pay for that with their lives. Not until then would Fondant Fields be happy.

“We are going to protest against their killing” Bittersweet said and stood up, slamming the paper on the table in front of her. “You and me, sis. We can’t just sit back and let it happen. You are with me, right?”

“Right” I nodded. I would have my sister’s back anytime.

Screenshot-1141Before we started planning our protest, we had a house to visit though. We headed straight for it as soon as I had finished the dishes. On our way there we heard lots of townsfolk gossiping about the animal attacks. I knew right then, that Bittersweet was certainly right. Even if it was fear rather than hate that fueled the berries in our town, our nature would soon have to take a big hit. There would be crusades going after the poor animals. And I would certainly not stand by to just let it happen. I would definitely have my sister’s back.

It was hard to focus on the house with all the anger boiling inside me. But I suppose it was a nice house. Bittersweet certainly thought so and I knew that she would buy it before she even told me. Perhaps it was a good thing that we had the animal protection protests to bind us together now, because it would hurt to see her leave. At least now we would have another reason to be together, besides sisterhood and friendship.


How cute is Mystery? Remember that you can always stay up to date with the extended family and their babies through the Family Tree.

Bittersweet and Romeo are now Romantic Interests but that’s as far as I’m going to push them. From here we will have to rely on our dear friend StoryProgression since Bittersweet is moved out of the household, as according to the rules. The house Bittersweet will live in is built my the talented risastorm and is available for download on her tumblr.

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Beth :)

     /  May 29, 2013

    Romeo and bittersweet are adorable together! I hope story progression keeps them together. Citrine and Mystery are both adorable 🙂 I can’t wait for the next chapter and the protest.

    Reply
  2. Aw, it was so sweet to be able to see Taxus’ family!

    And I’m so glad Romeo and Bittersweet’s date went so well. I hope SP gives us, er, I mean them, happiness and babies.

    I’m a little curious about those animal attacks. What kind of animal could kill two berries? Torn to pieces? Wild animals, or something…scarier?

    So I’m not surprised Berrian is wanting to travel again, but what about Watermelon? She really needs them right now, especially now that Bittersweet is leaving.

    Reply
  3. Oh man, I get the strange feeling that it’s not animal slaughtering those townsfolk.. I loved this chapter! Romeo and Bittersweet’s date was super cute, and I love how Coral’s so concerned for her sister. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Oh gosh. Me and Anon are on the same page here. I feel like it was Soda Pop raging out of control that killed those people. Oh jeez. Also, I looked at the family tree and SODA POP AND THUNDERBIRD HAD A BABY? oh gosh. Can I see it? :X I bet it is adorable.

    I wonder if Coral is going to bring Watermelon with them on their next trip. Salmon too. Like a family adventure?

    Reply
    • She did have another baby. Fertile vampire for sure. XD It will play a part of the story, but its entrance is still a few chapters away.

      Reply
  5. Those animal attacks are awfully fishy. Please, please don’t be Soda Pop. She’s done enough damage in her lifetime without adding this to it. And yes, I noticed the same thing as Arrowleaf and wanna see that baby!

    I love Romeo and Bittersweet. I suppose we will have to wait to find out if SP will be nice to them but I hope so.

    Reply
    • Fingers crossed for Bittersweet and Romeo, I agree!
      You will all get to see the baby soon. It’s a few chapters off still, but you’ll meet it eventually.

      Reply
  6. I hope SP keeps Romeo and Bittersweet together. I’m concerned, like annoy and a couple others, that the animal attacks might be Soda. Also I had the same reaction to Soda and Thunderdbird having a baby according to the tree. Omg! Squee! I wanna see.

    Reply
  7. …Soda Pop… :X
    Curious to see how the sisters’ protests will go, and I too hope that Romeo and Bittersweet stay together, cause they’re so awww… LOL.
    OMG I caught up, I didn’t think that was possible. Hahaha. Your story is amazingly awesome.

    Reply
  8. Romeo and Bittersweet are a lovely couple, I’m hoping that SP is kind to them too!
    Berrian sure has the traveling bug, with Bittersweet gone, and Watermelon having abandonment issues, it’s going to be harder for Coral to get away. I hope her family responsibilities doesn’t come between them!
    I bet Soda and Thunderbird’s baby is darling. 🙂
    I’m looking forward to the next chapter!

    Reply
  9. The date was so sweet! ‘m so happy for Bittersweet.

    Reply
  10. …I have a very bad feeling about those animal attacks. A very bad feeling indeed.
    I hope Romeo and Bittersweet will stay together through storyprogression. They’re so good for each other. =)

    Reply
  11. Ruby Botwin

     /  October 5, 2013

    how do u get the caravan and get the babies and toddlers to travel to foreign places? i love this story. favorite legacy of all time. and congrats on the wedding!

    Reply
  12. Yesssssss, I am so very happy about Bittersweet and Romeo!!! I hope StoryProgression is kind to them, haha.

    And oh man, these animal attacks….I’m getting the feeling that it isn’t an animal per se attacking those berries. Get a handle of yourself, Soda! Yikes!! D:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

