Chapter 4.1: A broken family

Screenshot-750I woke up one day and mother was nowhere to be found in the house. I didn’t think much about it because there had been times when she spent the night at some other place or mornings when she had to rush out for an emergency. It wasn’t weird that her bed was neatly made and no breakfast was prepared for any of us children.

No, I was used to making breakfast both for me and my younger siblings. And I rather enjoyed it, cooking with my own fruits and vegetables.

I didn’t think much about it the second day either. Or the third. On the fourth I started wondering, although not worrying. At least not until uncle Blizzard called and wondered why mother hadn’t showed up for work. I told him truthfully that I didn’t know. It probably worried him more than it worried me.

I tried calling her but her phone sprung to life in her bedroom. If it hadn’t been weird enough that she skipped work, it was certainly weird that she had left home without her phone. She had always had this constant need to be contactable. Leaving her phone was not like her at all. So I wondered, but I still didn’t worry. Nor did I miss her. She had never really been around in our childhood even when she was physically present. Not having her here was no real difference, really. Bittersweet felt the same way, and Watermelon never mentioned any of it. She, too, was used to being without mother and simply having me or Bittersweet taking care of her. Salmon was still too young to understand any of it.

Screenshot-782Several days later Thunderbird showed up at our house just to tell us that mother was with him and that she wouldn’t return home for a long time. I tried to ask for an explanation but he dodged every question as well as he could, only letting me know that we would be better off without her. That was probably true, no matter what the reason behind it was.

Screenshot-754We kept dealing with everyday chores the same way as we used to. It didn’t matter too much to me that mother was gone, for in reality she had always been absent. If it weren’t for her empty bed and the spring gnomes appearing everywhere in the house there was no proof she had ever been here. Except for us children, of course.

I did my best taking care of us all. Being the oldest meant I felt responsible. I worried nothing about myself or Bittersweet since we were both old enough to care for ourselves. But what would happen to Watermelon, who had just started school? Or Salmon, who was still only a toddler? I never asked to be their guardian, yet I never complained about it either. Now that this had fallen in my lap and I simply decided to deal with it as best as I could.

Screenshot-757Watermelon asked about mother at one point and even though it didn’t matter too much to me where she was or why she wasn’t here, it hurt to think that little Watermelon would have to keep wondering because I didn’t know the answer.

“Didn’t she love us?” she asked and tears welled up in her eyes. It hurt to tell her the truth, she was still so young, but she deserved to know.

“No, sweetie. Not enough. She only loved herself. We’ll be fine, I promise. You know we’ll take care of you.”

A single tear ran down my younger sister’s cheek and she wiped it off with the back of her hand before stomping hard with her little foot in the ground. “I hate her. She’s stupid!”

Screenshot-756“And she’s gone. Don’t worry honey. We will be fine, I promise.”

“I don’t have any parents anymore. That feels stupid. No mom and no dad.”

“You do have a father, Melon. He’s just not here very often… And you have a mother too, I suppose. And you have us, me and Bittersweet. We’re still a family.”

She shook her head again, which made her braid wobble from right to left causing a puff of wind to my face. “A broken family. I hate broken things.”

Screenshot-759 Screenshot-758That night Watermelon made herself comfortable in mother’s bed. She crawled under the sheets and inhaled deeply, taking in the remaining scent of mother’s perfume that had nestled itself in to the pillow. It made me feel uncomfortable being in that room for I was old enough to know that the bed was certainly well-used. But since it seemed to calm Watermelon down a bit, I didn’t complain and simply sat down on the edge of the bed and started reading her a goodnight story. I was determined to give her a childhood as normal as I could for I was scared that she would end up as broken as mother had always been if I didn’t.

I knew that this family had some seriously fudged up history and as it seemed, it wasn’t about to change yet.

Screenshot-755Bittersweet took a big responsibility too and we both cared for the younger kids as best as we could. We were definitely too young for this kind of responsibility but then again, it wasn’t like it was new to us just because mother wasn’t physically present anymore. We had been doing this for years already.

In contrast to Watermelon, Salmon didn’t seem to notice that something was even different. Perhaps he was too young to understand or perhaps he simply didn’t have many memories concerning mother yet. At least he was too young to understand that our family was different.

Screenshot-783A few days before my own and Salmon’s birthday Thunderbird came over again and said we needed to talk. He looked tired, which was strange for I had never seen him look tired before, and for what I knew vampires didn’t sleep and therefore shouldn’t be tired. He asked me to sit, but I preferred standing. I had just put the young ones to sleep and was about to finish the dishes and I just didn’t have time for any long conversation.

“I turned her” he blurted out when I refused to sit and I felt my whole face twist. What he had just said couldn’t be true, could it?

Screenshot-765“You did what?!”

He sighed and for a brief moment he looked even more tired than before. I tried reading his face but failed. “She tricked me in to it. Oh maker you should know I never wanted this Coral. Fudge, I know you deserve to have your mother around and everything and I should have learned to control myself but she smelled so good and the simple thought of having someone around who were like me. I couldn’t resist. But I regret it, I really do.”

I scratched my head for a moment and tried to wrap my mind around the facts that had just come to me. My mother was a vampire? If I thought this family was creepy and weird before, this took it to a whole new level. “So she won’t be coming back?”

Screenshot-784He shook his head again. “She’s so fudging impulsive. She’d bite anything that moves, I’ve kept her locked in until now but eventually she will need to get out and I’m not ready to release her here. I have to bring her out of town. Until she can control herself better. It’s not safe for anyone here with her trying to learn how to control her hunger. I’m so, so sorry I did this to you.”

Screenshot-764“Wow. This is… A lot to take in” I said because I did not know what else to say. It wasn’t so weird imagining a town without my mother (except for the fact that she had actually been a fine firefighter and it would be a loss to the department) but it was no doubt weird thinking that she was a vampire. I was just lucky I had known that Thunderbird was one in the first place for taking in the fact of supernatural life forms along with the news of your newly turned mother would most likely have been too much. I felt my face twist in to a displeased grimace, not because I would miss my mother very much but because I realized my own life would now evolve around cleaning up after mother’s mistakes. Before my own life had even started, I had two kids to care for.

I mean, I wanted kids one day. But not like this. Definitely not like this. I quickly released that thought, though, for it would do me no good spending my days thinking too much about it. I had always thought that things happen for a reason and that there is no real use to think of what could have been. I was good at adapting and making the best of what I had before me. This would be no different, I would manage just fine.

Screenshot-769Uncle Blizzard surprised us with coming over with the rest of the family for Salmon’s birthday. Even father came over for Salmon’s birthday and I couldn’t help but find it ironic that he cared so much more about us than mother had ever done, even if he was usually physically absent. He had probably been more present than mother anyhow.

We hadn’t initially planned for a party for it was tough enough to keep the house in shape while we were all in school and Salmon had a sitter. Mother’s savings were shrinking rapidly and I was very grateful for the garden I had laid out earlier for it provided us with enough ripes to keep us from going hungry. I don’t know what we would have done without it and I seriously feared the upcoming winter.

Screenshot-768Salmon seemed to always be happy and when Blizzard helped him to blow the candles of the cake they had brought a smile formed on his little face. I didn’t dare to tell my uncle that I didn’t like the cake and that it was filled with millions and billions of unhealthy additives. It was a nice gesture and for that I simply thanked them. I didn’t eat any of it, though.

It was probably weird for all of us to gather like this and not having mother around. When it came to hosting parties, she had been great. Not everything she had done had been stupid, even though most of it had been selfish. We celebrated like nothing was missing this day though and no one even spoke about her absence.

Hyacinth and Taxus were awaiting an addition to their family already, which really didn’t come as a surprise. They had been so eager to get married that I had been anticipating that pregnancy ever since the wedding. I was happy for them but also a bit jealous because they got to live their life as they wanted – without having to take care of mother’s leftovers. Not that I saw my younger siblings as leftovers for I really loved them. It was just the raising bit that annoyed me – I didn’t want to be their mother, I wanted to be their sister. Not that anything had really changed with mother’s disappearance when you really thought of it.

Screenshot-772When everyone had left I myself aged up with Bittersweet as my only witness. Watermelon and Salmon were both asleep and me and my sister had cleaned the place so it looked decent again. No sign of a party. The leftovers from the birthday cake went straight to the bin for I did not want to feed this family with additives. I wanted to know exactly what we ate and my own little garden along was more than enough to feed us all.

It felt weird having a grown-up body for I had been living as an adult for many years already. It was as if my physical body finally caught up with the circumstances I lived by.

Screenshot-762Bittersweet cried when she saw me and when I asked her why, she told me she wasn’t ready to see me leave but that she knew it was inevitable.

“I’m not leaving” I said. “How could I?”

She handed me a letter she had been hiding in her back pocket. It was crumbled but once I had straightened it out it was perfectly readable. ‘ADMISSION NOTE’ I read on the top and when I continued further I felt confused. Berryniversity had approved my application to their Science class – but I had never sent in an application. And I couldn’t go now – I had a family to care for.

“I applied for you” my sister said. “Suits you perfectly. You’ll get a chance to be young, meet some friends and get a degree and hopefully some job offers. When you get back home you can provide for this family. You have to go. You deserve it, sister.”

Screenshot-785 Screenshot-786I tried to make her change her mind but she was set on me leaving even though it made her worried and sad. In a way I think I was glad that she kind of pushed me out, for I would never have left her otherwise. I explained to Watermelon that it was only for a short time and that I would be back home before she was a teenager and then we would be together for as long as she wanted. And Bittersweet promised to be there for her until I came home. I would miss my siblings for sure, but once I started getting set for leaving I also started to look forward to it. This was what fate had in store for me – and I would simply embrace it, like always.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. I love Coral already. She handled the news about Soda extremely well, and I’m glad she’s going to Uni, even if she has to leave her siblings for a while. It’ll be good for her to get some of her youth back. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I bet it does seem like Coral has lived a lifetime already. She’s shouldered a lot of responsibility for such a young sim. But she’s also handled herself with a lot of dignity. Love her straight forward approach to life too. She should be lots of fun to keep up with!

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh. I’m supppeerrr excited to see what is in store for Coral. I’m also very happy that she is going to meet someone in Uni and that they are going to stay by her side and not ditch her like everyone Soda dated/slept with. lol

    Reply
    • Oh yes, her life will be a lot happier than any of the previous generations. 🙂 I quite look forward to that too.

      Reply
  4. I’m so excited! ^.^ Like soo excited! I can’t wait to see what Coral does with her life. It will be interesting, that’s for sure

    Reply
  5. Aw, this chapter was so sweet and sad and touching. Coral is really a lovely, gracious Sim, so unlike her mother. And she has such responsibility thrust on her.
    I’m really looking forward to her generation.
    I still feel bad for Thunderbird, carrying the burden of his guilt and now the responsibility of keeping Soda in line as a new vampire. I really hope she turns out to be a good companion for him min the end.

    Reply
  6. 😥 This was so sad!
    Coral is so responsible, a complete opposite to Soda. I’m looking forward to seeing who she’ll end up being with, and I’m glad she’ll have a much happier family situation than she grew up in (I hope! You won’t be mean, will you?)

    Reply
    • I do plan on having a fluffier and happier story this generation. As long as the game or SP doesn’t throw me too many surprises. Lol. 🙂

      Reply
  7. I absolutely love Coral so far, she’s so responsible – unlike her mother. I’m also rather glad that her sibling applied for her, and that she decided to go through with going to Uni.
    I’m excited to see where you take Coral. :]

    Reply
  8. Aw, it was nice to see the girls picking up and moving on as a family. Coral has every right to not want to be saddled with “kids” yet but she’s so grown up in knowing and accepting that she’ll be doing so. It’ll be fun to see how she gets on at Berryniversity.

    Reply
  9. Coral looks so pretty! Can’t wait for this generation, she seems like she’ll make a great, interesting heir. And bonus points for stepping up and caring for her siblings.

    Reply
  10. Coral is so pretty! I’m really excited for this generation, it seems as if she’ll make a great, interesting and different heir. I can’t wait to see what she will experience at university. First blog I follow that will feature an heir at uni!
    I’m glad she handled the situation with her mother well. It will probably be difficult for her but at least she stepped up and took responsibilty.

    Can’t wiat for more! 🙂

    Reply
  11. Wow. Poor Coral. I love her already and its wonderful the family is sending her to uni since she’s given up so much already.. So Thunderbird turned Soda? Yikes. Soda would make one scary vamp so I hope he’s prepared to continue handling her.

    Reply
  12. Coral reminds me of myself. Therefore, I am already quite fond of her. I can’t wait to see how her generation shapes up…and how you handle the deadbeat parents roll for a second time.

    Reply
  13. pandasims

     /  April 20, 2013

    I’m loving Coral so far. She seems really strong and independant.

    Reply
  14. Aww that was so sweet of Bittersweet to give Coral that time away. Good grief, even after Soda left, the remnants of her irresponsibility are still there. Meaning all the things Coral has to deal with. Hi Thunderbird, LOL. I feel like it wasn’t his fault. I mean yeah he turned her, but she pretty much forced him by doing what she did. He was doing perfectly fine not giving in to her before that.

    Reply
  15. Time to get caught up!

    Wow, Coral is so incredibly different from her mother. In pretty much every way you can imagine, too. I feel so bad for her- she’s had to raise her siblings pretty much all by herself… but I guess that duty will fall to Bittersweet now.
    I do hope that Coral’s family situation will be happier and warmer than Soda’s. Will we see her again in this generation or not at all anymore, I wonder?

    Reply
  16. That’s a difficult situation for Coral to be in, that’s for sure. What Bittersweet did was really sweet, though. I’m glad someone is looking out for the oldest sister. I look forward to reading this generation ^^

    Reply
  17. Coral is such a nice and responsible person. I love her ability to ‘go with the flow,’ so to speak, and simply deal with things as they come with little to no complaint. However, it is sad that these traits pretty much arose only because Soda sucked at being a mom.

    I am glad that she’ll still have the chance to carve out a life of her own though. Bittersweet is just the sweetest ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

