Chapter 3.16: Tying the knot

Screenshot-650One day when I got home from a call-out I found Lychee in Salmon’s nursery. “What are you doing here?” I asked and felt both angry and sad at the same time. It was adorable watching him snuggle with Salmon but it made me sad to think he had chosen to be involved with another family. I wanted that help I saw in front of me and my kids would do good with a man in the house.

Screenshot-651“I didn’t know we had a son” Lychee replied after a while and kissed Salmon on his tiny little mouth. My heart almost stopped from the cuteness.

“I have a son” I corrected him. “You’ve chosen another family so Salmon is my son.”

Lychee slowly turned to look at me. “Soda, I still love these kids and I won’t stop coming to see them. Don’t you understand that?”

“You will once you have your other child. The love child” I pouted. Lychee promised me he wouldn’t but I knew he was lying. Why would he go through the effort of coming back to Fondant Fields when he had everything he needed in Briocheport?

Screenshot-652You never really stop working when you’re the Fire Chief and when I did such a simple thing as eat a dinner with my oldest nephew at the diner a fire broke loose at the table next to us. It was Jewel’s best friend, Deluge, who was playing with his napkin when it suddenly caught fire and when he raised the napkin in panic over his head his hair also caught fire.

Screenshot-653Everyone at the diner jumped up from their seats and started crying in panic. I felt the usual adrenaline kick that always came with a fire but I remained calm. I knew how to deal with fires by now. I took out my extinguisher and started putting the fire out. The small portable extinguisher I always brought with me was far from as effective as the ones I was used to and it seemed like the flames got higher instead of dying out even though I pushed the extinguisher to its full effect.

Someone called my co-workers and it felt like it took forever for them to get here. Drops of sweat ran down my forehead and the only two sounds I could hear was the hungry flames spreading across the young boy’s body and Jewel’s desperate cries, begging me to save his friend.

Screenshot-656I did everything I could, but the fire was too strong and soon the little boy collapsed on the ground. It wasn’t until the fire was completely put out that I realized he was already gone. It was my first, and biggest, failure as a firefighter.

Screenshot-655I had never been very affected by other bow’s misery or destinies but seeing the young boy die before me broke my heart. I was a good firefighter and the fact that a young boy with his whole life ahead of him could die at my watch was unbelievable. Jewel cried and cried and cried behind me and the sound of that just added to the feeling of failure that I felt.

What kind of woman was I? I couldn’t even take my nephew out for dinner without getting him scarred for life.

Screenshot-657I could do nothing to comfort him. I knew nothing of the pain he was going through even though my life had been so much longer and even though I had been through a few losses of my own. “He was my best friend” Jewel sniffed and buried his face in his hands. The thought of losing Plum or Canary pierced my heart like a knife. How could I put him in this situation. It was my fault. I should have done better. I should have saved his friend.

When I brought him back home, in a crying and broken mess, Blizzard promised me it wasn’t my fault. He said that I had done everything I could – but I knew he couldn’t know because he hadn’t been there. Maybe there was something I could have done?

Screenshot-658A few days later Bittersweet celebrated her birthday. I couldn’t celebrate and only cheered half-heartedly as she blew the candles of her cake. I hadn’t been able to forgive myself for letting the young boy die.

Screenshot-659Bittersweet looked a lot like Precious now that her pudgy child cheeks disappeared and her more grownup facial structure took its place. It was my coloring, but she was sure her father’s daughter. I smiled faintly. It still hurt to think I had lost him and that I had to raise our child by myself, but I realized that he was still around – in our daughter. A part of her was him and even if I never wanted a family or dreamed of children, it was rather amazing to see how genetics were passed down. She was sure a mix of the both of us, just like Coral was a true mix of myself and Lychee.

I felt a little bit of curiosity towards seeing the other two kids grow up too.

Screenshot-660And speaking of grown-up kids… It wasn’t rare that Taxus brought Hyacinth with him home from school. In fact, it was more rare that she didn’t come with him. Their eyes sparkled when they looked at each other in a way I had never felt my own eyes sparkle. They were young, but they loved each other.

“We’re getting married” Taxus announced one day and I just nodded. I wasn’t surprised.

Screenshot-661“I know we’re young” he continued and Hyacinth rolled her thumbs nervously next to him. “But we want to do it. We’re meant to be together.”

“I know” I said. It made perfect sense and was no doubt the truth.

Screenshot-664“But they’re too young” Plum said a couple of days later when we discussed the matter.

I agreed, even though I also thought it made sense to let them get married. I mean, only the two of them could know if it was really true love, right?

“Hyacinth is only fifteen! It’s too early.” Plum started walking back and forth in the room and I could tell it was upsetting her to realize that her little girl was growing up. She had no other, she couldn’t hold on to the childhood like I could because of my other kids. With Hyacinth aging, it became so clear that we were aging too. And Plum wasn’t ready.

Screenshot-665“I can’t believe she’s grown so much” Plum said and looked sad. “Felt like yesterday she came in to my life.”

“You can be glad she’s older and can take care of herself” I said just as Watermelon started crying hysterically for what seemed like no reason at all.

Screenshot-666Plum went to pick her up and played air-plane with her. She still enjoyed my kids’ young age. She still adored them. It struck me that she had become such a good mother over the years. She was like a second mother to all of my kids, and soon Taxus would technically be her son-in-law. Our families would officially be tied together. It was a pleasant thought.

Screenshot-667We agreed to help them with the marriage under the condition that they waited until they had both finished high school. Knowing how funny time was, that would pretty much be tomorrow.

Screenshot-668And once both Taxus and Hyacinth had graduated they started preparing themselves for the upcoming wedding. I was pretty much as excited as them about the whole deal and spent a lot of time helping them pick out the right cake and setup a reception area in our garden. And the time before the wedding passed very fast and when my son and his fiance took a picture the last day before becoming a true family I actually shed a tear.

It was just so sweet to see.

Screenshot-672On the day of Taxus’ wedding our closest family and friends gathered in the garden. Since it was really a bond between two families of friends, no guests had to really pick a side or anything. It was just a logical bond declared official. I was happy to see my son marry a Spring. From what I understood, our two families had always been close and a marriage was a fine next step.

Although, it did pain me to realize I had a son old enough to get married. How old did that make me?

Screenshot-671Not a single eye was dry that day. It was touching to see Taxus and Hyacinth declare their love for each other.

Screenshot-678 Screenshot-676The whole gathering swooned as the two lovebirds shared their vows and for the first time in my life, I realized that perhaps there was such a thing as love. It certainly seemed true to the two under the wedding arch. It was the only possible explanation to why their eyes sparkled like they did when they looked at each other.

Screenshot-675Taxus looked as if he couldn’t believe that it was actually happening when he slid the ring on Hyacinth’s finger. And in all honesty, I could barely believe it myself. Hyacinth was stunning, while Taxus was modest – at the best.

Screenshot-673Screenshot-674Still, Hyacinth smiled when she slid the ring on Taxus finger without even the slightest of hesitation. She was sure that he was the one.

Screenshot-677It made me happy. All my life, I had just wished for my kids to be happy. I clearly saw that Taxus was just that in Hyacinth’s arms. It made proud of myself when I understood that all those years I had done everything I needed to push Taxus towards the future where he belonged – to the girl he was meant to be with. I had been a good enough mother – even though I never knew how to.

Screenshot-679After the ceremony the two of them just stood looking lovingly in to each others’ eyes. It was as if they were trying to understand that this was the beginning, that they would always get to be together. I couldn’t believe it myself.

Screenshot-680Screenshot-681Once the sun set we moved the party inside where we could all cheer on Taxus while he cut the cake. Bittersweet seemed incredibly happy for her big brother’s sake. But then again, Bittersweet was pretty much always happy about something.

In the end of the day, Hyacinth was named Twist and Taxus had married his princess and the guests all had a good time. It had been a good day.


Okay, the writing for the wedding is kind of meh, but I just couldn’t get it right. Since it’s not really that important for the rest of the story I let it be. Taxus is now moved out of the household along with his Hyacinth. They actually moved in with uncle Loquat – which I assume has to do with StoryProgression trying to keep the Founder house in the family. In a way it makes sense because Taxus isn’t that much different from Loquat in the sense that they are both quiet but incredibly friendly men.

There will be an Heir Vote up before too long now since Coral is also getting close to become a YA. Keep your eyes open!

Next Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Awh, Taxus and Hyacinth are such an amazing couple. (: I can’t wait to see the grand kids! Man, though, Soda’s life just keeps falling apart. The segment with Jewel depressed me so much, and Soda doubly so. Awesome chapter!

    Reply
    • I don’t know if perhaps such “city fires” are a part of the firefighter career or if it’s something StoryProgression pushed. I suspect SP though, as it seems to enjoy messing with Soda Pop. Lol.

      Reply
  2. Awww, Taxus and Hyacinth are adorable! I’m glad he got his happy ending, since his childhood didn’t start off the best, lol

    I really like that last pic of Soda Pop, she really does look happy for her son.

    Reply
  3. I’m so happy for Taxus and Hyacinth. I got a laugh out of Soda thinking she was a good mother to him because he managed to find his happiness…like she had anything to do with it.
    That was sad that she couldn’t save the child in a fire. I know that’s a hard thing for firefighters.

    Reply
    • I know. She’s silly like that. Although she was probably genuinely happy about him getting married and all, but her part in it all isn’t very big. :p

      I don’t know if such fires come with the actual career or with SP, but I’m leaning towards SP plotting against her again.

      Reply
  4. I caught up!! Woo!!! 😀
    My brain hurts now, so I have nothing to comment about any of the 8 billion chapters I’ve read today. Maybe later. *goes to lie down* :p

    Reply
    • Ok, rested a little now.
      Ok, wow, I love Soda. She’s so immature, and makes stupid desicions, but I love her for it. Sure, she’s not the worlds best mother, but she’s done a good enough job, and the kids seems happy enough.

      I really wanted Thunderbird be be a father, maybe next generation? Or the one after?

      Reply
      • Well done catching up! I know what you mean about the brain being mushed after too much reading. XD

        Soda has been really entertaining to play and write. She’s definitely far from my typical character. We will see more of Thunderbird, be sure of that. ^^

  5. Aw…what a rough chapter for Soda…not being able to save that little boy. 😦 But the wedding was lovely! I can’t believe how quickly all the kids are growing up.

    Reply
  6. It was a lovely wedding, although I laughed when Soda thought that Taxus was modest at best. She seems still to be trying to convince herself that she’s not been a terrible mother. That’s still sweet that Lychee is coming to see his kids. Oh, and I loved the expression on Bittersweet’s face when she aged up!

    Reply
  7. So sad about the kid’s death. 😦
    “that would pretty much be tomorrow.” = It Iiterally was one Sim day later, wasn’t it? 😉

    Reply
  8. LMAO, Sim time. Especially on Normal mode it’s like hitting the fast forward button on life. Haha, Soda Pop saying Taxus was modest at best was hilarious. Jeez, the poor little kid dying in the fire, that stinks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

