Chapter 3.12: Bittersweet

Screenshot-265By now I knew the symptoms well enough to tell early on. The hurricane of feelings within my body hadn’t been just feelings – it had been a baby.

And this time I wasn’t mistaken, it was Precious baby. I should have been sad about it, but when I rubbed my subtly swollen belly, I smiled. Precious’ baby was growing inside me. We had made a baby. Together.

Screenshot-284The problem was just that he was nowhere to be found. I wanted to tell him about the baby, I wanted him to be apart of its life – my life. But every time I came to Sweet Pastry it was Appletini standing behind the counter.

And every time I asked anything about her brother she refused to talk about him. Even after months I was no closer to finding out where he lived or how I could find him.

Screenshot-285I’m not sure if friendship is the right word, but there was definitely something growing between me and Appletini after all the afternoons I came to Sweet Pastry and chatted to her. She was still getting annoyed every time I asked about her brother, but she had also started smiling while refusing to talk about him.

“Look Soda” she said one day and locked her eyes to the ceiling, as if she didn’t want to look at me. “He’s bad news. Okay? My brother, you don’t really want him.”

“I need to talk to him, that’s all” I lied. The truth was that I did want him even if I had figured he was rather good at hurting me.

Screenshot-288“You don’t understand” I said and placed a hand on my belly when a kick from Precious’ baby hit me. “I’m pregnant.”

Appletini giggled, “I knew that already. You would never look that pudgy willingly.”

Screenshot-289“It’s his” I said and searched her face for any reaction. I had never been so sure of who the father was before, but this baby, it was definitely Precious. And I really needed him to come to my side and help me out and be with me. And I needed Appletini to help me find him or to talk to him or… do something.

Screenshot-290She said nothing but she stared at me with the deadliest look I had ever seen her giving. “It is his” I said again and nodded, as if I tried to show her that I had at least convinced myself about that matter.

“You know, you said that once before and that was such a big and ugly lie and you’re an idiot if you think he will fall for it again. I may not be on the best of terms with my brother, but what you did was just awful.” It was all she had to say in the matter and after that she would just turn her back at me whenever I tried to bring Precious or my baby up again.

It had been a mistake to say that Coral was his in the first place, I knew that – I had known all along. But I never could have imagined that the lie would be the final obstacle in my way towards a happy life with Precious. He had wanted Coral to be his too, hadn’t he? That was why he had been fooled, wasn’t it? He wanted to be a father. If he only knew now!

Screenshot-279Appletini never spoke another word about Precious or my baby after that and whatever friendship we had built up was definitely gone again. After some time I simply had to accept the fact that I wouldn’t manage to get to Precious that way. With Plum and Canary both back to work I was rather lonely during the days and I tried to just stay at home and care for Coral, I really did. But it didn’t work out. I couldn’t be a stay-at-home-mom. I could barely even be a mom. I needed my life – my own life.

In the end, I took to my last possible option: Begging to Blizzard to get my job back.

Screenshot-280His eyes were cold and bossy when he told me no. “You’re pregnant, Soda. It would be bad for the baby if you worked.”

“But I need it” I protested. “I’m going crazy at home!”

Screenshot-282“And I’m not letting you” Blizz said again and that was his final word in the matter. He was a tough boss, but a good one, I had to give him that. But still, I was his sister and he should know how much work meant to me and how crazy I would get being at home all day with Coral.

“But, I suppose you could hang out here during the days if it gets lonely at home” he said and smiled before walking away from me, tending to one of the firetrucks in the garage. I looked after him as he got to work and my entire body begged for working as well. I really loved my job, I suddenly realized.

Screenshot-269I took his advice and started coming in to the station even if I wasn’t allowed to actually work. Mostly I sat by the TV chatting to my replacement. She was an old lady and even though I came in every day I had never seen her do any actual work at the station. She just sat there playing games or watching TV. That made me even more annoyed because I knew I would do a better job than her, even if I was pregnant.

Screenshot-272“Don’t you have stuff to do?” I asked one day, rather subtle and friendly. I wasn’t going to make enemies just because I didn’t like the way she spent her days.

Screenshot-276“Ah, I’m resting” she replied and her voice was swaying like old berry’s voices do all the time. A picture of her resting outside a burning flashed before my eyes and made me shake my head in disapproval. She was not good enough to replace me.

Screenshot-273Screenshot-275Every day I came to the secod floor of the station during my pregnancy she was there, always just relaxing in front of the TV. In this rate, the alarms would soon be useless and the firetrucks would be slow. I hated the very thought of it. But what could I do, really?

I put Coral on the floor and picked the other controller up from the floor. I was so annoyed. So very annoyed.Β It was ridicoulous that I had been replaced by an old lady who did nothing better than play games and watch TV. And she wasn’t even good at that, I beat her easily at SimFighter.

And so one day there was an alarm while I was there. When I, with my huge pregnancy body, had managed to get to the lower floor with Coral in my arms before that old woman had even got up from the sofa I had finally had enough. Blizz couldn’t let this slip!

Screenshot-281Luckily, no one died in the extra minutes it took them to get to the right house. But I knew that minutes could mean the difference. Fudge, seconds could mean the difference and that old lady had just proved exactly how useless she was.

I approached Blizzard about it later that day.

“Fine” he grunted, probably irritated over both my nagging and the poor call-out earlier during the day. “You can work. But only at the station. Keep the alarms and trucks in shape.”

I hadn’t felt that happy in several months. He would let me work!

Screenshot-293And work I did! Coral was by my side the entire time and honestly she seemed happy enough to just be there with her stuffed teddy. In contrast to most other berries I gained energy rather than lose it from my work because I enjoyed it so much. It was way easier being a mother when I could also do the things I enjoyed. It had to be good for both me and my kids that I was happy.

Screenshot-294The alarms were in a pretty bad shape since they hadn’t been looked after in quite some months but I managed to trim them up to the point where they should function at their best. No seconds would be lost because of neglected alarms while they were on my watch.

Screenshot-292It felt so good being back at work. I finally had my own life back, even if it was far from how I had pictured it. The parties were all gone and I had ended up with two kids and another on the way. And I was single. But yes, it felt good.

And the paycheck was better when I actually did work and perhaps I could actually afford to keep my kids’ rooms up to par this way. Who would have known that kids were so expensive?

Screenshot-291My old lady replacement was still always watching that stupid TV on the upper floor. It didn’t bug me as much now that I cared for the alarms and the trucks, but it still annoyed me that she was so slow at responding to the alarms. I needed to get back as soon as possible.

Screenshot-295It must be something about the full moon and pregnancies that does not go too well together because when the full moon rose over the town I went in to labour. Taxus was helping me with the dishes when it happened and when he saw my face crinkle in pain he panicked. “What’s happening? Mom, mom! Are you okay mom?”

The initial pains were so strong that I couldn’t answer him or even try to calm down. I just had to focus on breathing.

Screenshot-296This worried Taxus even more and he started jumping from one foot to the other. Poor guy had no clue what I was going through, and didn’t know that I had done this two times already. It was probably harder for him than for me this one time.

“Taxus, go to your room and stay there. Don’t come down here until I say you can again, okay?” I said it with a firm voice and Taxus hesitated before leaving me on my own. He was probably worried about me, but he would be more scarred if he saw what was happening than if he left – that much I was sure of.

Screenshot-297A couple hours later I held a little baby girl in my arms. Precious’ girl. I smiled and felt incredibly lucky. She was a true treasure. I only wished she would have got Precious’ skin as that would have made it so much easier to convince both him and Appletini that this was indeed his baby. I would simply have to keep my fingers crossed now. They couldn’t ignore her now that she was here, could they?

I decided to name her Bittersweet. It was the most fitting name I could think of because that was exactly what she was – Bittersweet. Sweet because she was Precious’ baby and Bitter because of the very same thing.

Screenshot-437I went up to Taxus room shortly afterwards and showed him the little girl. He looked at her with big eyes as if he was trying to grasp how she had suddenly arrived. “She’s so little” he said after a little while and anxiously poked her arm.

“She is” I agreed and nodded. “This is your new sister. Her name is Bittersweet.”

Screenshot-435“How did she come out from your belly?” he wondered andΒ I sat down on the edge of his bed and decided to tell him where babies came from and why I had been in so much pain. He crinkled his nose and muttered stuff like “Gross”, “Disgusting” and “Eeew” but in the end I think he was glad that I had explained and I hoped it would mean he didn’t have any nightmares about what he had seen.

Screenshot-436“I wish she was a boy” he said when I stood up and he looked at Bittersweet again. “I already have a sister. I want a brother. Girls are gross.”

“Well, you can’t decide beforehand” I said and smiled.

“I still wish she was a boy” he muttered and crawled under the sheets to go to sleep. I kissed his forehead and whispered goodnight before I turned the lights off and left his room. He had become so big and I felt like I barely knew him at all. How is one supposed to have time to get to know their kids when you have to work to pay the bills and afford to feed them all? It was a mystery to me. And surely, a nice home and food on the table had to be the top priority, even I understood that – with the little I knew about being a family.

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Awh, Bittersweet… I wonder how Soda will convince Precious she’s his? They don’t have paternity tests for Berries, do they?

    Reply
  2. This is why you don’t cry wolf in the first place, Soda. Lol.

    The ending to that chapter was adorable and gave me hope for her parenting skills – though it is probably false hope. I still love Soda even if she is crazy and all that jazz.

    Reply
    • No, she is actually getting better at parenting now! πŸ˜€ She will never be great but at least we will see a small improvement, at least in her efforts. Lol.

      Reply
  3. Bittersweet, what a great name.
    Lying to Precious about Coral really came back to bite her, didn’t it? She’s even lost Appletini as a friend.

    Reply
    • It was a rather fitting name, wasn’t it? πŸ˜€

      And yes, she lost lots by lying in the first place… Some of it might come back, though.

      Reply
  4. Great baby name! And now I’m all caught up! Hurrah!!

    Reply
  5. SO AWESOME~ Check my legacy out if you get a chance. : D whenever your free.

    Reply
  6. So her lie came back to bite her. Soda you silly girl.

    Reply
  7. Oh Soda. Soda, Soda, Soda.

    But the ending to this chapter was so cute, oh my gosh ^__^ By the way, do you know where you got that maternity shirt? I’ve seen it around, and really like it!

    Reply
  8. It’s so nice to see Soda interacting with her children πŸ™‚ And yes, Bittersweet is indeed a fitting name. I hope she has Precious’ hair, that would look so lovely with her mother’s skin.

    Reply
  9. Oh man. Exciting. It’s so cute to see her talking to Taxus even though he still doesn’t like her very much.

    Reply
  10. That ending actually gave me some hope of her becoming a decent parent. =) I wonder how Bittersweet will turn out? And whether Soda will try to use her for revenge like Coral or not…

    Reply
  11. I like her hair like that and I love the “Keep Calm and Eat Cupcakes” poster. πŸ™‚ Looking forward to seeing the kids grow up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

