Chapter 3.11: Birthdays

Screenshot-243The next week passed with no major events whatsoever. I worked, came home to feed and change on the kids, got to sleep and it was the same thing over again. It was like an endless loop which only occasionally would take a side turn and leave me with some time to hang out with my friends. Usually, I was too tired for that though and the times my friends or family came to visit I usually took the opportunity to get some rest while they kept the kids busy.

I was looking forward to Taxus aging up and starting school so I would have only one toddler to feed. Taxus would learn to care for himself more and more the older he got. I couldn’t wait.

When his (and his younger sister’s) birthday finally came, Loquat came over early with some dinner. I was very grateful for not having to care about that since the simple task of going in to Sweet Pastry to pick up the cakes felt rather draining. “You okay sis?” Loquat wondered as he put the food on my kitchen table. I slammed a hand across my face and moaned. It explained fairly well how tired I was.

Screenshot-242To my big surprise the next guest to arrive was Precious. I hadn’t seen him since that day at the café and I certainly hadn’t expected him to actually accept the invitation to the birthday party. And yet there he was, running through my kitchen and up to Loquat who was holding Coral in his arms.

Precious stopped right in front of my brother and just looked at Coral. “She doesn’t look like me” he said after a while and it was the first words uttered since he first came running. I was still so surprised by his presence that I couldn’t say a thing.

“She does a bit” Loquat replied and looked from Coral to Precious and back again. He had never asked who Coral’s father was, and must have assumed that it was Precious. It was because of the skin, I thought.

I didn’t say anything because I felt rather confused by Precious presence and luckily the doorbell sounded just then and I had a reason to leave the kitchen. It was so weird, the whole thing. Coral was of course not Precious’, he should have understood that. So, what was he doing here?

Screenshot-245I brought Taxus up to the cake as soon as everyone had managed to get here and helped him blow the candles. The sooner we had this over with, the better.

Screenshot-246Screenshot-247Plum and Loquat were the ones cheering most frenetic and they had even brought some party horns to make sure there was some noise. As if I didn’t get enough noise with two kids in the house.

Jaffa Dolphin, Blizzard and Spray cheered from the other end of the room with their mouths still filled with the delicious food Loquat had brought. I strongly suspected it was dad who had cooked it because I couldn’t imagine that Loquat was that skilled with cooking. Precious was holding Coral in his arms right next to Loquat and all I could think of when I put Taxus on the floor for his transition was that I needed to hold her when she was brought to the cake.

Screenshot-248While Taxus grew up in to a rather sad-looking (and not as cute as you would have expected with me as his mother) child I snatched Coral from Precious’ arms and brought her up to the other cake. He didn’t complain but watched my daughter closely the entire time. I don’t think his eyes left her for even a split of a second.

When she crawled out in the livingroom towards where Plum was sitting and eating her cake, Precious followed.

Screenshot-249He sat down next to Plum in the sofa and I think he let Coral out of sight for the first time in several minutes when he turned to Plum to speak. I couldn’t help but to eavesdrop on them.

“She’s not mine, is she?”

Plum simply ignored him and kept eating her cake. I knew I could trust her, she was my best friend after all. I never planned on getting him to ponder over whether he had a child or not but I had to admit that it made me happy to see. It was some kind of revenge, even if it wasn’t the kind I had first planned for.

Screenshot-250Precious continued, “I mean, she does look a bit like me but there’s still something about her that does not look like me at all. I mean, she has about the same skin as I do but she lacks the freckles. Everyone in my family has freckles. If that was indeed my skin, she would have freckles too.”

Screenshot-251“You know it’s her first birthday, right?” Plum said and then went back to being quiet and ignoring him. Precious was quiet for some time too, he seemed to debate with himself what it meant. Although, he soon started talking fast and incoherently again and I could see that Plum zoned out and stopped listening to him.

Screenshot-253“Coral Twist” Precious said and lifted my daughter up. I didn’t know if he had called my bluff yet but while lifting her he looked her deep in to the eyes. I walked in to the nursery where Coral would reside from now on since Taxus had got his own bedroom on the upper floor. I could still watch Precious and Coral from there, but it got harder hearing what he said.

The thing was, I was starting to feel rather sick about the whole thing. It was quite awful to see him trying to work out whether or not Coral was his daughter.

Screenshot-254People started leaving after they had eaten their cake but Precious stuck around. He just couldn’t keep his eyes off Coral and after picking her up in the first place, he didn’t seem to want to put her down again. ‘I need to tell him’ I thought.

Screenshot-255I never got the chance.

Once everyone had left he walked in to the nursery and tucked Coral down in the crib before walking over to me. He pulled me in for a passionate kiss and I realized that this was exactly why I had said that Coral was his in the first place. I wanted her to be. I wanted Taxus’ to be his too.

I wanted Precious. Not like I wanted most men, but more. I wanted to keep him. Always have him around. Never lose him.

Screenshot-256We didn’t talk much after that and he ended up staying the night. The sexual act was just as amazing as I remembered from the last time. Precious was my god.

Afterwards we laid naked together and I rested my head on his bare chest, feeling it rising and lowering with every breath he took. His heart was beating against my ear and I felt happy.

“Why did you lie?” he suddenly whispered and kissed my hair. I wondered when he had realized, if maybe he had understood it all along.

“I wanted it to be true” I replied honestly.

He didn’t say anything else in the matter and shortly afterwards we fell asleep. I was feeling happier than I had been in a very long time and I knew it was because Precious was there, in my home – in my bed.

Screenshot-257When I woke up I sleepily rolled over towards the side where Precious had been sleeping only to find that it was once again empty. He had bailed on me again. It hurt way more than anything had ever hurt before and I wanted to crawl back under the sheets and just cry.

Screenshot-258That wasn’t possible though because Coral was pretty much screaming at the top of her lungs, demanding breakfast. I sighed heavy and pulled myself up.

Screenshot-260It was hard to keep on like everything was normal, even though it kind of was. There were pictures of me and Precious on the bedroom wall, next to the pictures of me and Fandango. They were my trophies. I had started gathering them after Taxus was born because for some reason it felt good.

Trophies, proofs or prizes. It was not much different from the fishermen who hangs their biggest catches on the walls. However, at this point I actually thought of taking Precious down because he had hurt me once again. I couldn’t believe I had let myself be so exposed. I had been a fool and now I had to pay the prize.

Screenshot-261I was hurting and I was angry, not so much at Precious for bailing on me, but on myself for lowering my guard and allowing myself to get hurt. There was no such thing as love. I had known it all along and yet I had fallen for it. I had secretly been hoping for a life with Precious without even realizing it myself until I had dug my own grave and prepared a way for him to hurt me.

Trying to get rid of the hurt and the anger I did the only thing I knew I could do. I devoted myself to my work. Not only did I work harder than anyone else while we were at work, I also brought work home and kept working even when I should be resting. I had to keep myself busy. It granted me a promotion but it didn’t ease the hurricane of emotions within my body.

Screenshot-267Taxus went for his first day in school and since we lived just across the streets I could stand watching him as he sprinted towards the adventure of elementary school. I was rather proud of myself for getting through all those years. I had been decent.

I waved after him but he didn’t look back once. His eyes were glued to the doors of the school building.

Screenshot-262I don’t know if it was the realization of seeing my son grow up so quickly or if it was the fact that the house became a lot more quiet or if it was still the emotions from the whole Precious thing but once Taxus had gone through the doors and out of my sight I threw up.

I hadn’t been decent. I wasn’t decent. I was a failure.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Why did Precious do that. Like, I can’t think of a reason why he would sleep with her again after she lied to him about Coral and then, to top it off, seem so sweet even after she admitted that Coral wasn’t his but leave her. Now she is going to be pregnant with his kid! x]

    Reply
  2. I honestly think Precious and Soda Pop deserve each other. They both seem to be less than nice people. Oh well. Still liked the chapter 🙂

    Reply
  3. It was good of her to be honest with him. I couldn’t help but laugh when I got the picture of her waking up without him–again–although I feel for her. And now, it seems, she *is* going to have his child. This should be interesting!

    Reply
  4. Soda Pop is one messed up girl. I do feel sorry for her in a way, but really, all her problems are her own making.
    Poor Taxus! I hope he makesfriends at school.It won’t make up for his home life, but at least he can have people that care about him better than his mom.

    Reply
  5. Oh, Soda. What did you expect?

    Reply
  6. Oh no! He left again. She’s starting to realize she messed up, huh? Maybe she’ll get half of what she wanted…

    Reply
  7. Oh my. Now she’s gonna have three unwanted kids from three men? LOL

    Reply
  8. Oh okay, I remember why I still don’t hate Soda Pop. She isn’t perfect, but that’s why I still like her in the end. She just feels so human.

    However, she can’t go on like this….there comes a time when everyone needs to grow up and take responsibility for their actions, and with child number three on the way, it may just be time o_o

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

