Chapter 3.10: She is yours

Screenshot-202My house was completely silent and calm, which definitely wasn’t common. In fact, I rarely had time or peace to read the newspaper since at least one of the kids constantly demanded my attention. It was usually a constant flow of bottle feeding and diaper changes.

I had never been much for silence and calm but it felt as a rare luxury to get time for myself to do such a common thing as read the newspaper. A small note at the bottom of the fifth page caught my attention. It was really no more than a headline and three sentences, but to me it meant more than any front page news I had ever read:

Sweet Pastry expanding to Fondant Fields
The Pastry family have finally found a place to run their business 
in Fondant Fields. The old pavilion in the city's centre is 
currently being renovated to house various types of bread, croissants, 
pies and pastries. Scheduled day for opening is on saturday in two weeks.

Screenshot-201“Plum” I said and lowered the newspaper to the table. She hummed something in response without looking up from her book.

“Did you know that Sweet Pastry is opening here?”

“What?” she sighed and put her book upside down on the table. It was rare for her too to have time for reading and therefore she didn’t exactly appreciate my interruption.

“Sweet Pastry. You know, Precious family’s business.”

“Are you still dreaming of him?” she teased and I blushed. It was silly, I know. It had been years since I met him and I had given birth to two kids since then, but the fact that he had walked out on me was still hurting. I wanted an explanation or revenge or something.

Screenshot-203Both Canary and Plum found it funny to tease me about the whole Precious thing. They rarely ever shut up about it. In fact, I was starting to get a bit tired of it, but then they offered to come with me to the opening of Sweet Pastry and I understood that all their teasing was just made with love. They were my best friends.

My father came to watch the kids for me while I went to explore the town’s newest place. We headed over to the City Center in the late afternoon, not long before Sweet Pastry would close after its first day in Fondant Fields. I couldn’t imagine it had been anything but a success.

It was a good place chosen for such a business. The old pavilion hadn’t been used for anything in years and had simply been falling apart and forgotten. A few locals went there for barbecues occasionally, but that was about it. It would serve a lot better as a cafe.  The octagonal building had been kept and they had simply refreshed the painting on the walls and put up a few signs. It looked good. In one of the corners of the surrounding park stood a photo automate and it made me smile.

Screenshot-204We stepped in through the door and saw a counter filled with various sweets and pastries and in the other end of the room four small cafe tables that were inviting you to take a moment with friends you cared about. A jukebox was pumping out some old pop songs and overall it was an inviting place.

“Welcome to Sweet Pastry, what can I do for you?” The girl behind the counter smiled. She looked just like him and it didn’t take me long to figure she was a member of the Pastry family herself.

Screenshot-208“Is Precious here?” I asked and went straight to the core. I put the hand on my hip and tried to look confident even though the very thought of Precious was one of the few things that could actually make my confidence sway.

“Precious?” the girl asked and raised her eyebrows. It was clearly not something she had been expecting.

“Precious Pastry, you know him, don’t you?”

Screenshot-212“Uhm…” the girl scratched the back of her head. She was trying to dodge the question. Not wanting to just let it slip I just waited in silence until she finally spoke again, “He’s not here.”

I sighed. She was making this much harder than it needed to be.

“Look, I’m not running my brother’s errands. Do you want something to eat or not?” the girl sighed in a much less welcoming tone than she had greeted us with at first.

Screenshot-206“We’ll have cupcakes then” I said and again put the hand on my hip. Her brother, huh? At least I was getting somewhere.

Me, Plum and Canary sat down at one of the small tables and enjoyed our cupcakes. My friends were both rather quiet the whole time but I figured they just didn’t know what to talk about now that my mind was all set on finding Precious again.

The girl behind the counter started cleaning and putting the leftover sweets and pastries in the fridge and I watched her, trying to find some more resemblance between her and her brother. They did look awfully much like each other but from what I could remember they did not share body language. Precious had seemed confident and upright in the way he moved whereas this girl – his sister – seemed much more nervous to her nature.

Screenshot-222When I came back home I could barely believe my eyes. She was there, just nibbling away on a sandwich in my kitchen as if it was the most natural thing in the world to do. It stirred an inferno of feelings within me, and not the good kinds.

“Oh hi, your father needed to go somewhere so I’ve been watching the kids” she said. She didn’t even pretend like we hadn’t spoken a single word since the day I came to visit her at her old house and she told me she didn’t want anything to do with me.

I didn’t even respond to her. She wasn’t worth it. Instead I called my father and demanded to know why he hadn’t called me when he needed to leave and instead left my children in care of the woman least capable of all to care for children. “She just wants to get to know them” he said and I hung up. It was just not acceptable.

“I want you to leave” I said with a firm voice, not showing any emotions whatsoever. Oceana just kept chewing on the stupid sandwich – my sandwich – without making any movement. I started to think I would have to force her out physically.

Screenshot-221“You know, I really did it to keep you safe” she said once she had swallowed the piece of bread she had been chewing on. I felt sick where I was standing by the sink and tending to the dishes. If it was something I had learned to hate, it was her stupid lies about how she did it for us and how she wanted us to be safe. I couldn’t believe dad had just taken her back when it fit her.

“Could you leave now?” I asked again, not even bothering to turn around and look at her.

She stood up and went up next to me and placed her plate on the counter next to me. “Every day I thought about you and missed you and everyday I was hurting because I was separated from you all. If I had known it wouldn’t work I never would have put any of us through that. I’m sorry Soda Pop. I really did what I thought was right and I regret it. I regret not being there for you or your siblings. It’s something I will regret to the day I die and I hope that you can forgive me one day.”

Tears burned in my eyes but I wouldn’t let them escape. I wouldn’t let her get to me. “You have such beautiful children, don’t repeat my mistake on them” she said before leaving. I looked after her with a confusing mixture of feelings. I hated her and what she had done to us and I would never forgive her, even if a part of me wanted to do so. She had lied to us, taken the easy way out. That was the truth – she never wanted us.

Screenshot-219Once I had gathered myself and washed away every sign of her ever being here I walked in to Taxus nursery. He was peaking up through his toy box and the whole scene was so adorable that I couldn’t help but smile.

Screenshot-220“Mama” he said when he saw me and stood up with the help of the walls of the toy box. The top of the box rested on the top of his head and he smiled. I smiled back. He didn’t talk much, and he couldn’t walk and even standing like that, with the help of the toy box was unstable for him and before I had made my way to him he fell on his bum and dropped the horse in his hand with a thump on the floor. The toy box closed above him and from within it I could hear how he was crying.

I went towards him and picked him up to comfort him. He stopped crying once I had kissed all of his fingers.

Screenshot-205I kept going back to Sweet Pastry, hoping that one day Precious would be there and allow me to get my revenge. And every time I saw Appletini behind the counter my heart dropped a little. Not that I didn’t like her, because she was in fact really friendly and nice to talk to. But because every time she was there and Precious wasn’t I lost a little bit of the hope I was desperately holding on to.

I had given up trying to get her to talk to me about her brother because every time I tried she would just get really silent and try to avoid speaking to me at all. I started to think that she knew I was eager to speak with her brother without having to remind her ever other day.

Screenshot-210“What do you suggest I try today?” I asked her and smiled. My newest tactic was to befriend her and get her to talk that way. It seemed to work better.

“I’d say you should try the Lemon Pie” she said and smiled. “It’s delicious, I bet you’ll enjoy it.”

“Fair enough.”

Screenshot-211“Uhm, Soda Pop…” Appletini said before I had even moved away from the counter. She held her hands together in front of her, twisting them slightly and it made her look rather nervous. “Why do you need to see my brother so desperately?” she wondered.

“Because I miss him” I said, distorting the truth a bit.

Screenshot-213“Well… Don’t tell him I said so… But he’s going to be here tomorrow. I have a day off.”

“Tomorrow? I think I better celebrate that with an ice cream” I said and smiled. Finally!

Screenshot-217I never tried the lemon pie hat day, instead I had the best ice cream I had ever tasted. Not only did it have the sour taste of lemon but also that sweet taste of victory. I would finally get a chance to that revenge.

Screenshot-235Just as Appletini had promised, Precious was standing behind the counter when I came in the next day. To put some relief on the babysitter I had brought Coral with me.

“Welcome to Sweet Pastry, what can I do for you?” Precious asked and my whole body vibrated by the sound of his voice. I had no idea what caused me to feel so much just by hearing his voice and seeing his figure.

“Hey Precious” I said and I don’t think he recognized me until just then.

“Soda Pop?”

Screenshot-233“Long time no see” I said and his eyes kept going from Coral’s little body to my eyes, as if he was trying to understand how she could be.

“You have a daughter” he said after a while, stating the obvious.

I don’t know why I said what I did next and it didn’t really make any sense. Yet, this was what I said: “Her name is Coral and she is yours.”

Really Soda Pop?! That didn’t make any sense. There was no way she could be his and it was a sad attempt at making him feel something. I cursed myself silently as soon as the words had left my mouth.

Screenshot-231“She’s not” he said but for some reason his voice swayed, showing a little hint of uncertainty. His eyes kept going back to Coral in my arms, who’s skin had a suitable red shade. If it wasn’t for her lack of age, she could actually have been his. But he couldn’t actually believe such was the case, could he?

“She is” I said again and fed the lie despite my instant regret. I hated lies and yet I was making them up myself. I knew from experience that lies only hurt people but for some reason I kept on to the lie I had come up with.

Screenshot-232“But, she can’t be” he said and I noticed his shoulders slouching a bit. There was definitely doubt in his voice, but I could clearly also see that there was an itsy bitsy little part of him that believed me.

“She is your daughter, Precious” I said again.

Screenshot-228“Is she really mine?” he asked and in his eyes a faint little sparkle was seen, but it soon faded again. “No, no. She cannot be mine.”

Screenshot-239I shook my head and Precious stepped out from behind the counter and ignored me by pretending to read a book behind my back. I kept the lie alive by hugging Coral tightly and whispering to her, loud enough for Precious to hear it, “At least you have your mother here.”

Precious was clearly not knowing what he should think about it all and that made me feel rather happy with myself.

“It’s her birthday in a week. Bet she wants her father to be there” I said before we left that day and Precious just stood there looking rather confused and lost. That had almost been too easy.


I have recently decided to also join a collaborative random legacy together with afkthenad and (I think) Arrowleaf. It’s hosted on the official forums and we are still looking for two more to help us out. We will do two generations each and each generation shall be inspired by a song that fits the rolls and plot for that specific generation. If you’d be interested to participate in this please drop us a line in the forum thread.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Oh my gosh. I can’t believe she did that. And I can’t believe Precious actually sort of fell for it! :O She’d have to be a year older, at least, to be his. That’s one way to get her revenge and if he doesn’t contest the parenthood she could sue him for child support and – oh my gosh. lol

    Reply
  2. Oh my god, Soda!! It’s a slippery slope she’s riding, and she’s going to be dragging Coral, Taxus, and Precious (and hell, anyone involved with her!) down with her. Great chapter, Fru!

    Reply
  3. Soda, what are you doing? Soda, stahp.
    Oh man, I’m really excited for the next chapter now. I’m not sure how long Soda is going to be able to keep this up.

    Reply
  4. Sodaaaaa wth? Man she is all about Precious, I didnt realize she had it that bad. Or is it just that he left her like that and she wants him to pay?

    Can’t really blame her for her reaction to coming home and finding oceana there though.

    Oh, what a tangled mess! Can’t wait for the next chapter.

    Reply
    • She thinks it’s about revenge because she does not “believe” in love. I would say she is actually a bit in love with Precious, and probably because of the fact that he did leave her and didn’t treat her like any other guy she has met before. 🙂

      Reply
  5. Wow, Soda Pop has reached the stalker level of crazy. I actually kind of feel bad for Precious.
    Oh, and poor Taxus, I just about cried for him.
    That was a nice touch having Oceana come in to talk to Soda Pop about her parenting. Oceana was physically absent, but Soda Pop is just as gone from her kids’ lives.

    Reply
  6. If she thinks she resents her mom for leaving if she keeps this game up she’ll really hurt Coral worse than her mom ever hurt her.

    Reply
  7. Oh, Soda. That wasn’t very nice…

    Reply
  8. Holy crap! She just told one of the scariest lies ever. 🙂 Nice chapter!

    Reply
  9. So I kind of hate Soda Pop but I feel bad about hating her
    but how can she do these things
    she doesn’t even love her son
    this is so saaaad

    Reply
  10. Oh crap!! Up to this point I actually didn’t have any negative feelings toward Soda Pop because, I dunno, she just likes to have fun and doesn’t like being tied down and I can’t totally fault her for that, but this is a BIG LIE! Soda Pop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! >:O

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

