Chapter 3.7: Keeping promises

Screenshot-118Just a few weeks after Taxus was born spring came to town. The snow melted in to puddles and the grass started turning green again. The sun had never felt as warm and soft as it did that spring. It was refreshing and it felt like I was given another chance.

With spring, came of course spring festival. While I felt that autumn and winter festivals were quite boring and childish, the spring festival was one I had always looked forward to throughout my whole life. This year was no exception. While I prepared to head out Loquat came over and offered to babysit Taxus. It was surprising to realize that he, out of all people, seemed to be the one to most happily look after my son.

Screenshot-100That was except for Plum and Canary, of course, but they were going with me to the festival. I met up with Plum and judging by her dripping umbrella I figured it must have rained pretty bad in her part of town. Here it was only a few tiny drops that fell on the ground. Not really the amount that forced you to have an umbrella in the first place.

“Ready?” Plum asked and smiled. And berry was I ready. This was the first party I went to since I got pregnant with Taxus. I was starting to get all shaky by the lack of dancing, laughing and kissing already.

Screenshot-103We hit the dance floor right off, where Canary was already swaying her hips. The battle for the title of Spring Festival Dancing Queen was on! We all knew one of us three would win since that had been the case ever since we were teenagers and first entered. The big question was only which of us it would be.

After the pregnancy with Taxus and the feeling of being fat, ugly and downright disgusting, I desperately needed the title this year.

Screenshot-104Plum was backing off a bit, knowing that I needed the boost at this time, needed to feel desired and pretty. But Canary just danced away, giving her very best to steal the title away from me. I don’t know if she didn’t know just how gross I had been feeling or if she simply didn’t care, but for whatever reason she clearly wouldn’t just let me win.

I needed to do my very best.

Screenshot-106Luckily for me, there was a whistle behind my back, followed by a “You go Soda!” I recognized the voice even before I turned around and saw Fandango’s pink being. He was still rather hot after all the years since high school, but he was also a bit pathetic and still thrived upon his high school popularity. He simply didn’t seem to grow up.

But as for now, I couldn’t be picky so I went up to him and started dancing closely with him. He was a good dancer, I knew that since prom.

Screenshot-108The rest of the group on the dance floor gave us space and all danced in a cramped spot in one of the corners of the dance floor. In a way, it’s silly that we could still have ‘fame’ because of our high school popularity, but that’s how things go in small towns I guess.

The realization felt good.

Screenshot-109No one would have been surprised after prom if we two had ended up as a couple (and I think that was what Fandango still hoped for) but I had other plans. Bigger plans.

It still felt good dancing to him there, having a large area of the floor and many pairs of eyes looking at us, admiring our beauty. It was exactly what I needed after the pregnancy.

Once the winners were announced, it didn’t exactly come as a big surprise that it was us.

Screenshot-112Fandango pulled me with him inside afterwards, saying we needed to go to the love tester. It struck me there and then that he was most likely in love with me. It must have been the way he looked at me, as if I was a grand prize or a fair princess. I loved it.

Screenshot-111I put my hand on the hande of the tester and Fandango looked at me, whispering “Are you ready?” before his hand enveloped mine and we both pulled the handle towards us and looked up at the meter.

Fandango’s hand was warm and a little bit sweaty. While we waited for the tester to calculate our love he kept throwing glances at me. I loved the attention and the feeling of being desired. I met his eyes at one point, wondering if maybe Taxus was his. I hoped not because with the way Fandango looked at me, he would most likely want to be a part of a family. He would want to be by my side to raise our son and I did not want to settle like that. But perhaps I could just give him Taxus and get rid of the problem, just like Plum had suggested in the first place.

Screenshot-113My thoughts were soon interrupted by the tester making a ringing sound. The heart at the top flashed in red and the meter showed that the love between me and Fandango was burning. He turned to look at me, a wide smile spread on his face. “No surprise, huh?” he whispered and gave me a peck on the cheek.

I felt myself blushing. This type of attention was exactly what I needed. The next step came natural and once we were done I realized that he wasn’t exactly a sex god like Precious, which I had of course known all along, but the simple attention and desire it gave me did a great job to pull me back on my feet.

I wasn’t just a mother. I was still Soda Pop Twist.

Screenshot-121Canary went straight home after the festival but Plum followed me home. Said she had something important to talk to me about. We waved Loquat goodbye and even before we were seated in the kitchen Plum began to speak.

“So, you know me and Canary…” she begun, her voice shaking a bit as if she was nervous. “We kind of got engaged yesterday.”

“You what?!”

Screenshot-124“Well, we’ve been in love for quite some time I think but I don’t know. It’s not an easy step to take… But anyway, ever since you got pregnant with Taxus Canary has been talking about future and marriage and kids and everything. She wants it all.”

There was a pause where I sat down. This was pretty big news. “And you want that too?”

Plum scratched the back of her head and looked down, “I think so.”

Screenshot-122“But kids..? That’s quite impossible, isn’t it?”

“Ehm” Plum cleared her throat and blurted out, “She’s kind of pregnant already.”

“She is?!”

“Ye, she’s gone through insemination. We don’t know who the donor is but he’s supposed to be purple. She wanted the kid to resemble me too… And once she knew it had been successful she proposed and I… Well, I said yes.”

The news sunk in slowly. Even if I had seen them make out at one point it was still a lot to take in. My two best friends were getting married and expected a baby. And I hadn’t known anything about it. And still, I felt happy for them. If this what what they wanted, then it was the right thing.

“I’m happy for you” I said and hugged her. “Congratulations.”

Screenshot-123 “We’re still going to Briocheport, though!” Plum promised and smiled. “We just have to wait until the baby is born.”

Screenshot-125While we waited for Plum and Canary’s baby to be born, Taxus celebrated his first birthday. It was a relief to see him grow up because the hair on his head clearly told me it wasn’t Fandango’s baby and that I didn’t need to worry about him deciding we needed to be a family. My son, clearly originated from Starburst Shores and Flamenco. It was a bit funny to think that he had been conceived in a photo automate.

Screenshot-127Plum came over every day to hang out with me and play with Taxus. I think everyone around me was more happy about that little boy than I was. He was still an obstacle in my life. Maybe that would change once Plum and Canary had their baby too. Our lives had to change by then, didn’t they?

Not that I wanted them to, or looked forward to it, of course.

Screenshot-128They had a daughter shortly after Taxus’ birthday. The donor had clearly been purple and must have had about the same skin as Plum because little Hyacinth seemed to have the exact same color as her second mother. Her eyes were a dark shade of purple and truth be told, she was quite adorable. And most of all, she brought joy to her mothers — my best friends — and for that I loved her.

Plum had moved in with the Spring family and their house was really crowded by now. They seemed to be a big and happy family though, so I guess it was all good.

Screenshot-130I was a bit worried that Plum wouldn’t wanna go to Briocheport now that she was a parent. But that was not the case. We left just a few weeks after Hyacinth’s birth and Canary stayed at my place taking care of the two children.

Screenshot-131Briocheport. The city without boundaries. The city that never sleeps. The big city.

I was extremely excited to be here and I just knew this trip would prove be the best thing in my life so far. This was probably where I belonged. I was no smalltown girl, this was my dream city.


AN: My dear friend StoryProgression pushed Plum and Canary in to a relationship while they were all teenagers and I never broke them up, thinking it would happen eventually anyway. However, it didn’t and when I installed Woohooer Canary got pregnant within a few in-game-hours. I decided to go with it. They are now also engaged, just as in the story. 

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Oh, Canary and Plum! I love them together ❤
    But Soda Pop, you better snap out of it and stop being so…so … aaarg.
    Great chapter 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’m so happy for Plum and Canary, and their little Hyacinth!

    Reply
  3. Hahaha. I can’t believe that Canary got pregnant so quick. So cute, though. Can’t wait to see how the kids look grown up. Still love Soda and can’t wait to see what happens in Briocheport. ^_^

    Reply
    • She’s inherited the bunny gene from her father I guess. Lol!

      Hyacinth is so incredibly cute as a toddler, I can’t wait until you get to see her!

      Reply
  4. Congrats to Plum and Canary! It was interesting that Soda felt some love toward Hyacinth for the fact that she made her two best friends happy, yet seems to feel no empathy toward her son. I wonder if that will ever change? Although I’ll bet she’s not gonna be happy when she finds out she’s pregnant again..and again… 😀

    Reply
  5. Plum and Canary are so cute, awh. (: I gotta admit that Soda Pop’s attitude towards Fandango sorta bothers me. You can’t just brush people’s emotions off like that! He’s got big feelings too! Oh well, I still love her. Fabulous chapter, Fru!

    Reply
  6. Aw, yay! I’m glad Canary and Plum had a baby. Maybe it will help Soda warm up to her own.

    Reply
  7. Woohooer can make Sims who are the same sex have babies? That’s so sweet of Canary to watch the children. 🙂

    Reply
    • Yes it can. It can also enable pregnancies for teens and males and right now I have an annoying bug which makes the men be the ones pregnant whenever there’s a pregnancy. I have no male pregnancy clothes so floating heads wanders around my town…

      But ye, it’s a quite cool mod.

      Reply
  8. Taxus looks a bit… eh. He’s cute, but he’s got such distinctive features as a toddler already… I hope he’ll be a good-looking kid. 0.o

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

