Chapter 2.13: Getting accustomed

Screenshot-933It wasn’t easy adjusting to not having Oceana around, and it certainly wasn’t easy adjusting to being a father of triplets. And for most of the time, I was also taking care of my old man, as he seemed to get older and more confused for each day that passed by.

I was usually completely drained once the kids were asleep and dad put to bed in the evenings and I would just curl up to a small, piteous ball on the couch. Was it really fair? Even when colorless sims had the same rights as any ‘bow, my life was a misery. Okay, exagerration, at least I had the kids. But still, I felt lonely and sorry for myself.

Screenshot-937There was lots to be done with three toddlers in the house. Constantly a mouth to fill or a diaper to change and I had not been completely ready for it. I wasn’t prepared for doing it all by myself. I did my best, but some days it seemed like the kids didn’t get as much attention or care as they deserved, despite my tries. It was a wonder mom and dad had managed raising me and my siblings in the district where the standards had been… low.

Screenshot-944 Screenshot-955My friends all came over occasionally to help me with the kids, which I was indescribably happy about as it gave me a chance to get some well-needed rest. They all had different opinions on Oceana leaving me. Some thought it had been for the better and some were furious with Oceana for letting me do all the hard work on my own. I myself didn’t really blame Oceana, I just missed her. She had been my first, and only, love. Maybe the feelings hadn’t been as mutual as I had thought, since she so easily could leave me.

Bluebell took Oceana’s side, as did my brother. They said that since they too were parents they could imagine what it would be like having to worry about your kids safety when there’s an easy fix. According to them they would do the same thing if they had to, and they seemed sure I would have to, if it had been the other way around. Maybe I would, but I would have considered my options because I didn’t like being without Oceana.

Screenshot-954Mithos was the one to come over most frequently, and also the one to help me the most with the kids. In fact, he came over pretty much just to spend time with them. I imagine it was sort of training for him, as he was also about to be a father any day. He was a really caring and supportive uncle to my triplets and I honestly don’t know if I would have managed without his help. To think that he still had time for these little things with me and my kids even with his role as the mayor of town was fantastic. It made me feel… important.

Screenshot-942 Screenshot-941He and Cherry hadn’t even been an official couple for a year when Cherry suddenly ended up pregnant. It was a big surprise to all of us, and maybe most of all for Cherry and Mithos themselves, but they took it for what it was and prepared themselves in the ways they could. I was happy for them, Cherry was a nice girl and someone who could deserve my dear hero friend. I was eager to meet their little one, but I hoped it would wait until my own kids were a bit older. It would simply be more convenient if some of the kids could take care of themselves while we fussed over a new little baby.

Screenshot-960Cherry did pop before the triplets birthday, but fortunately it was only a few days before so there wasn’t really that many days for me to get it to work with the kids all by myself. It was hectic, but I managed. I even managed to squeaze in a visit to the new parents and their lovely little Canary.

Screenshot-965For the triplets birthday I invited Cinnamon and Mithos and my siblings and their families over to celebrate. Quite a big party for a loner like me, but I needed their support now that Oceana had left me. I was scared for my kids growing up and for time passing, because I feared that with time I would forget about Oceana or at least get over her, and I didn’t want to. I suppose I was also scared that she would forget about me. Maybe even forget about her own opinions and go back to agreeing with her family. The simple thought of her feeling disgust of her own kids was enough to make me cry. Those babies were perfect, why couldn’t she see that?!

The triplets aged up beautifully. Perfectly, actually. They probably got that from their mother, the perfect part.

Screenshot-957 Screenshot-959Spindle was already a teenager and his best friend was aunt Sweet Corn. They laughed and teased each other to no end. It was clear that friendship wasn’t limited by any boundaries of age. “Do you have any girlfriend yet, Spindle?” Sweet Corn teased while they were stuffing themselves full with cake.

Spindle stuck his tongue out, “Naha, do you have any boyfriend yet?”

I knew it was a sore toe for Sweets, but she just couldn’t find the right one. Ironically, I had found the right one for me but she had left me. I suppose we were in similar positions. Maybe one day she would find someone, or would it be impossible now that she was used to loneliness? In a way it suited her and it did leave her with enough energy to be the perfect aunt and my kids would certainly need that. A grownup girl in their lives.

Screenshot-958Pixie had a hard time dealing with losing friend after friend. It was understandable, of course, and I really felt for her. At least she was still putting on a brave smile and tagged along whenever we had a gathering. She was as much family as any of the guests of this party. It was comforting being with her too, as she reminded me so much about my own mother. They had been the best of friends, closer than I had ever been to any of my own friends. It had to be about as tough losing such a close friend as it had been for me to lose my mother.

Screenshot-956Cinnamon was, to my great joy, also pregnant. Even if it would be quite a few years between our kids (and Mithos’ little girl) it was a joy to share parenting with close friends. I mean, it was only natural that my priorities had changed after the triplets came in to my life and having my two best friends doing the very same journey by my side was probably the best thing to it. I knew I would love their babies with every part of my heart that was left after loving my own family.

My friends had all brought some gifts for them and we all worked hard to stuff it in to the tiny rooms in our house. I realized I would probably have to re-build the nursery either to another bedroom or some kind of playroom. It wasn’t like we would need a nursery again, anyway.

There was just one problem about re-building and that was that now that mom’s retirement money had stopped coming we weren’t exactly swimming in cash. And for Berry’s sake, I had three kids to provide! I would have to get a job. And so the next problem occurred; What would I do for a living? I wasn’t exactly good at anything.

Screenshot-964“Easy” Sweets said when I asked her and I narrowed my eyebrows, trying to form them in to a question mark. “You’re joining the police force, of course! You’re the best investigator in town, after all.”

As surprising as it may sound, the police force seemed to agree. Or at least they offered me a job. I suspect the investigations regarding Affair’s murder played a part, but the bigger part was probably the fact that they needed to hire more colorless’, ‘for a diversity in staff’.

Screenshot-987When Blizzard, Loquat and Soda Pop went for their first day in school, I went for my first day to work. I’m not sure who was the most nervous, but it was most likely me. At least they had each other to rely on while I was all by myself.

With the kids being older, life got easier for me. It was a relief realizing they could mostly care for themselves as long as I provided the essential food and love. And homework guidance, of course. I even found myself with a bit of spare time, which I hadn’t had since before they were born. Since I could spend it with Oceana, I thought to myself.

Screenshot-970I went to her house a couple of times. I rung the bell and waited for someone to open the door. I just wanted to see her, hear her voice. Tell her that the kids were beautiful. But she did the same thing as she had done to my phonecalls ever since she walked out of my house – she ignored it. The door remained shut no matter how much I wished for it to swing open. She had made her choice, and I was clearly not a part of it.

Screenshot-972 Screenshot-973Only one single time as I went there the door opened but it wasn’t Oceana who stood in the doorway, it was some blue ‘bow who hissed at me, something about Oceana not wanting anything to do with me. When I refused to leave he gave me a lesson. It had been many years since that had last happened, but it seemed the loathe of colorless wouldn’t budge easily.

Screenshot-974Two days later I found a note in the mail, “Remember Sundance, survival is most important! X” It didn’t matter that it wasn’t signed, I knew it was from Oceana anyway and it was just another way for her to tell me to forget about her and move on with my life.

Dad kept getting worse and there was nothing I could do about it. I had known for a long time that he was having trouble getting things straight, but when he mixed Loquat and Blizzard up, I realized just how bad it was. It seemed like not even the kids could slow his ageing and fading down anymore. I needed to prepare myself for losing him. Not that I had the slightest idea about how to do such a thing. I didn’t want to be left alone with the triplets, I couldn’t do it.

Screenshot-953But dad did pass away. He did leave me alone with the triplets. I would never be able to forgive him.

Screenshot-951 Screenshot-950 Screenshot-949We were all devastated.

Screenshot-977“Are both your mom and dad dead now?” Soda Pop asked one day a couple of weeks later and tears welled up my eyes. It hurt to think about them being gone and no matter how much time that passed, I still missed them.

“Yes they are” I replied, trying to remain strong in front of my child.

“What happens when you die?”

“You go to the place you wish to go to” I replied, aware that it was an abstract explanation. Soda Pop seemed pleased, though, and she skipped off, interrupting her brothers in some game. They did leave her out of their games occasionally, saying whatever they were playing wasn’t for girls. That was one of the few times I interfered in their games because it was probably not easy for her to be the only girl. I could only imagine what it would be like once she needed a girl-talk. Who would help her with that? Sweets or Cinnamon, perhaps?

Screenshot-975“Dad?” Soda Pop was standing right before me again, her innocent eyes looking straight at me. “Don’t we have a mom?”

I had known the question would come eventually but it felt like it was too soon. Although, wasn’t every part of your kids progression too soon? I didn’t know what to answer, Oceana had never told me how she wanted the story to be. I took a deep breath to earn myself some time, hoping the right answer would suddenly just appeared. Unfortunately, it didn’t. Even after two deep breaths I didn’t know what I was supposed to tell her. She was starting to look impatient, obviously expecting an answer. I decided to just take the bull by the horns. “Boys! Come here. I need to talk to you all about something.”

Screenshot-979The boys complained over having to interrupt their current game, but came to our side. “Everyone has a mother” I started once they were all close and listening. “You have the best mother of them all. I wish you could meet her. She looks a bit like all of you. Blizzard, you have the same skin as her and Soda, you have the exact same hair color. Loquat, you look mostly like me, but you have so much of her personality. Her name is Oceana and she is very brave.” I took a pause to gather myself, the part of her abandoning them, us, was still tough to me. I wasn’t even sure if I had accepted it myself and now I would have to get my kids to believe in it.

Screenshot-978“Sometimes, when you really love someone, you will have to make tough choices just to protect those you love. Your mother did that. Because her parents and her siblings are bad persons, she had to leave us to keep us safe. Her family hurt both me and her a couple of times before because they didn’t like berries without color. That was a common thing, actually. Oceana wasn’t like that and her family didn’t like that she turned her back on them. We were in love and they couldn’t accept it. When you were born, she left to keep us safe. Your mother loves you all very much, and that is why she isn’t with us anymore. Do you understand?”

I looked at my kids who had been listening close to the story and they all nodded insecure. They understood. It wasn’t until that moment I realized that I too understood. She had really left us to keep us safe. And ever since she did return to her family, I hadn’t been harassed a single time. And my kids were as safe as any kid. “I still love  her” I said, not particulary for the kids to hear but since they were the only ones around they did.

Screenshot-983“There is a boy at our school who says his parents say we are freaks because we are colorless” Loquat said quietly.

Screenshot-981“It’s good mom is protecting us” Blizzard said and Loquat and Soda Pop nodded in agreement.

Screenshot-969Time passed by. Days became weeks and weeks became months. I wasn’t as tired anymore, even though I worked fulltime at the police now. Even though it was hard to accept, dad’s death had been a relief in a way. No more embarrassing mix-ups for his sake, and no more caring for him for my sake. He had finally found peace, and was finally with mom again. I don’t think he had ever managed to leave her side and had probably had one foot on the other side ever since she passed. Maybe he just stuck around long enough to see that I was doing okay with the kids. Would have been typically him, actually.

What I loved the most about my life was the goodnight stories. The triplets were all tucked down in their beds and the only light came from the lamp by Soda’s bed. There was excitement in the air and I remembered how much I had enjoyed reading when I was younger. Sharing that one passion with my kids was a fantastic thing. It usually didn’t take more than a few pages until the kids were all asleep and I could take a round, kissing them all on their foreheads. I didn’t know if it was the actual reading or the kissing part I liked the most, but I loved the nightly routine no matter.

Screenshot-984“I love you daddy” Loquat said during one of those nightly routines and the expression “my heart melted” suddenly became so real. I loved these little ones with all my heart and I would do whatever I had to in order to keep them safe. Oceana, Bluebell and Quince had all been right. Whatever I had to.


Sundance’s Misc. Fun and Generational Goal was Fighter / Social Bunny. I kind of combined them, making him get attacked every time he went out to do something with his friends.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Spindle’s cute! I love his hair especially.
    I still hate that Ocean is so completely out of the picture. Poor Sunny seems so alone, even with his friends.

    Who is Cinnamon’s baby-daddy?

    Reply
  2. Aw…. Oceana is a pearl and I’m so happy he realised that she did what was best for the family, to keep them safe.

    The children! The children! 😀 That nose! Sundance have it and his mother had it! It’s adorable, but I hope that it won’t be regular when you reach like gen 6-7…. o_0
    BTW, was it unexpected for Oceana to have triplets? Cause they sure can be a handful…

    Cinna is going to have a baby?! With who? Curious I am!

    Reply
    • Yes, I love that nose but I hope it’ll breed off eventually. Genetics that stick ain’t too fun. 😦

      Cinnamon is still single so I wasn’t sure who the father was. XD Turned out it was a blue berry named Comet. The baby is adorable, it’ll be shown in the generation finale.

      Reply
  3. It’s wonderful that he is frogiving Oceana for leaving, I love the kids mostly little Soda. Boo all of gen 1 is dead 😥 Great chapter can’t wait for the next one.

    Reply
  4. The kids aged up wonderfully. I’m glad that Sundance came to terms with what Oceana did and that the kids know that she sacrificed so that they could grow up safe. Lovely update.

    Reply
  5. That is a wonderfully sweet chapter. I’m glad he seems to be coming out of his funk and hopefully some day things will change and he will find happiness with his love again.

    Reply
  6. Lovely chapter. I’m happy to see that Sundance has accepted Oceana’s reasons for leaving. It was for the best. His generation has been exceptionally sad. I hope next generation has a better time of it.

    Reply
  7. beaglelover2008

     /  April 19, 2013

    One of my favorite chapters. On the first screenshot, the crib, where did that come from, do you know?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

