Chapter 2.3: An important fight

Sweet Corn had been going over her encounter with Cinnamon several times during the last few days. It did nothing to ease her mind, though. She wasn’t used to being shot down or ignored within our circuit and it had really been hard on her confidence. And there was I, always by her side because we shared a room and went to school together. So I was the one who had to listen to her complains and try to come up with some kind of supportive words. Berry shall know I did my best, even though I never asked to be a part of any of it.

“Why does she even go there if she doesn’t want to speak to anyone?”

It was about the hundred time I heard that question and I sighed, “I don’t know. Maybe she can’t work on it at home, maybe her parents are with the antagonists. Or something?”

“It still doesn’t make any sense! What if I knew something?!”

“But you don’t, you were passed out many hours before the shooting. I think most of us know that already.”

“But still! I want to help!”

“And if she wanted help, you could have helped her. But she doesn’t. Sweets, we have to accept that. She’ll do her best, I promise.”

“And how can you be so sure?” Sweet Corn pouted and crossed her arms. It didn’t matter that I tried, she just wouldn’t listen. Not as long as my opinion differed from hers.

Whenever we saw Cinnamon at The Blank Slate, Sweets would shoot angry glances at her. That poor orange girl had gotten herself a nemesis by hushing my sister to be silent. I didn’t know which side to choose, should I ever need to.

“You go over to her” Sweet Corn said and turned to me. “You try!”

I didn’t like the idea, I thought that Cinnamon had already made clear that she didn’t want our interference. “Nah, she was quite clear with wanting to do this on her own” I replied. I had no trouble saying no to my sister, I had learnt that I needed to or she would just push me around.

“Actually, it’s not a bad idea” Mithos added and walked over to me to put a hand on my shoulder. “You’re not the type to be in the centre like Sweet Corn, it might work better because you are staying out of the spotlight.”

While I had no trouble saying no to my sister, there was no way I could say no to Mithos. After all, he was my hero and most inspirational person in the world. And after everything he had done for us, I owed him my life. So, I went up to Cinnamon, hoping for the best.

“Hi” I said nervously and glanced over my shoulder to where my friends were sitting. Mithos did a thumps up and Sweet Corn watched me with excitement.

Cinnamon looked at me and in an instant there was a fire lit in her eyes. “What are you doing here? I thought I made it clear to your sister that I don’t want your help.”

“Mm, I guess” I mumbled and looked down. “Just thought I’d say hi, you know?”

“And you did, now tag along. I have work to do.”

“Are you getting anywhere?” I wondered, curiosity catching me.

She sighed and gave me a deadly stare, “Just. Leave.” I needed no more convincing and turned on my heel and stumbled off. That girl looked menacing and maybe Sweet Corn had been right the entire time. Maybe she was strange and evil and stupid. And why did she come here if she wanted to be on her own. It made no sense.

“Woow, that didn’t go very well” Mithos whispered and gave me a comforting look. “Sorry, thought she would warm up to you…”

“That’s fine” I muttered and sat down. From that moment, I swore to never be involved in any of the uprisings again. Sure, I didn’t like the way we were treated, but if we just stayed out of trouble it wasn’t too bad. There was enough of us to make our own sub-society and if troubles like these was what was coming for us if we did anything to stop it, I was happy to just let it be.

The only problem was that none of my friends agreed with me and they all did everything in their power to get equality for colorless. I had never had anything against being on my own, but they seemed to mind. So, they dragged me along on every little mission they went for.

They meant well, I know they did. They didn’t want me to feel left our or lonely and they probably thought I considered myself as nothing more than an adjunct, which they were determined to convince me I was not. In their eyes, it was important that I was also being a part of their plans. It never occurred to me that I could complain, instead I just tagged along and tried to stay in the back of everything we (they) did. It worked out okay.

There were rare times when I managed to stay invicible until they had all left District 0, which meant I could spend the time at home, with my parents instead. It had come clear to me that normal teenagers weren’t supposed to enjoy hanging out with their parents but I guess I wasn’t a normal teenager then. My family was my everything.

It came clear to me that even my own mother thought it was weird that I preferred staying at home with them. “Why didn’t you tag along to The Blank Slate tonight Sunny?”

“Nah, I’d rather be at home. All they ever do is plot uprisings and drink juice and dance. I like being at home, too.”

“But you are a part of the uprisings, aren’t you?”

“I guess… I mean, I’m with them most of the times. But I’m quite happy here too…”

Mom stared at me with her eyes filled with strength and when she spoke, she did it with a slow, powerful and serious voice. “Sundance Twist, don’t you ever think you are happy with this” she waved in front of her with her arms and looked around. “Just because we are white, it doesn’t mean we shall be satisfied with the district. We deserve a lot more. And if you don’t think that’s worth fighting for, then I don’t know what I did wrong in raising you. These uprisings are the most important task we have in life.”

“But what can I do?”

“You could help that girl find Affair’s killers. They should get their rightful punishment for what they did!”

“But she doesn’t want our help. We tried!”

“Then start your own research. You’ll cross paths eventually and then she will realize that it’s better for you to work together. But don’t just sit here and think that this is a decent life because that would make me very disappointed.”

She was right. Of course she was. After everything she and dad had been through, and I still thought this was enough. And the district existed because of me, after all. And Affair died because of me. Therefor, it was my responsibility to find solutions.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Yay! An update πŸ˜€ I really wan to learn more about Cinnamon! I also think she’s quite pretty πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Hopefully Cinamon will warm up to him a little bit but I’m glad Mallow could motivate Sunny a bit.

    Reply
  3. Cinnamon seems like a lot of fun! I hope they’re able to find solutions for everything that is going on. Maybe once it’s all solved, they’ll finally have a bit of peace of mind.

    Reply
  4. Cinnamon seems very cold and blocked off, I guess we’re going to learn more about her? I understand why Sunny doesn’t really feel very motivated, if you’ve been living like that all you’re life and nothing every changes you might start to lose hope. I’m glad that Mallow managed to motivate him though. Lovely chapter πŸ˜€

    Reply
  5. They look cute old. Mallow’s face looks more marshmallow-y. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  6. Interesting “twist”, his mother urging him to become more involved. So is he going to attempt to get closer to Cinnamon, or do his own investigation as his mother suggested? I shall read on πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. You go, Mallow! Get that fire burning in your son, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

