Chapter 1.13: A friend and a hero

Helping out in the uprisings was probably the best decision we had made in a very long time. First of all because it was something I enjoyed doing and I thought was important. And secondly because it kept me busy and prevented me from spending time feeling sorry for myself. And last, it meant I could once again spend time with Flax.

He had (of course) also been forced to move in to the district and ever since that TV-show there had been a barrier between us. It was as though the reactions to him bringing Sundance built a wall between us. I blamed him for making my kids go through the awful events and he did his best to stay out of my way. I guess he did feel a bit guilty about it.

With the new uprisings growing, I realized that it had never been his fault. I had simply felt the need to blame someone and he had been a good choice. Spending time with him again felt good and I knew he cared deeply for me and my children’s rights for a fair treatment in society. Besides we were quite alike each other in many other areas as well. It was a friendship meant to be, and the fact that we had tried to forget that was pretty sad. And now, it was all coming back to us.

Quince was always out on some “mission” after he had decided to join. He wanted to scout the outside and make friends among the colorfuls, he said. We let him be, he was old enough to know what he was doing. And he had color so no-one would intentionally harm him unless they realized what he was working for. And I knew they were careful.

Sweet Corn was still mad at us for forcing her to stay out of it and she longed for her birthday so that she would be old enough to also do something. I knew it killed her to just sit by when the rest of her family poured their heart and soul in to an uprising she couldn’t join. To keep her at least partly occupied Drover had brought home an easel and some canvases and paints. “Learn how colors work” he said and handed it over to her.

She probably knew it was just a distraction but she still spent her time in front of that easel. She painted her dream worlds, paintings where color and colorless worked in unison. Where it was possible to mix and match as you pleased.

Sundance kept silent as always and he stayed out of our way, minding his own business. Sometimes he sat with me and Flax and just listened to what we spoke about. Those times you could see that he gathered every word and every opinion in a compartment at the back of his head.

This was one of those times. Me and Flax was talking about the rumours Quince brought from the outside in a hushed tone while Sundance sat next to us and listened to every word. He never interrupted and never asked any questions, it was as though he understood that it was a dangerous topic and that we needed to keep it quiet.

Because of his quiet nature, it came as quite the suprise when he suddenly cried “Mithos!” and jumped up and rushed towards the young yellow boy.

“Hey there champ” Mithos said and ruffled Sundance’s usually well-combed hair. Mithos had instantly fallen in love with Sundance when he realized that was the boy who had been on the TV-show. And Sundance returned the feeling multiple times. Mithos was Sundance’s hero and one of the few ‘bows who had managed to drag him out of his shell.

“Did you bring us anything good?” Sundance wondered and almost made Mithos drop the basket he was carrying. Mithos never told him off or looked annoyed though, he just laughed and pulled a colorful wrapped chocolate bar up from the basket and handed it to Sundance, “Chocolate for the champ.”

“And now you need to talk to my mother, right?” Sundance smiled and ran off in to our home. I couldn’t help but to gasp, Mithos had a huge impact on my son. Well, in fact he had a huge impact on all of my kids, and me, but it was the most obvious when it came to Sundance.

“I brought some fruits and some bread” Mithos said once he had managed to get to us. It was brave of him, and probably a bit dumb, to cross the laws Mayor Bloom had set up and bring us food within the district. It was of course strictly forbidden. We had to our food ourself outside the district, with an increased cost of 200% because we lacked color. Since we were also forbidden to have any employment outside the district, that was pretty much impossible and we had to be happy with the small food deliveries Fondant Fields officially did to us.

Since Mithos started bringing us food, my kids looked healthier and we all felt happier and more hopeful.

“I can’t thank you enough” I said and tried to master a look matching the thankfulness within my body. I probably didn’t succeed very well.

“One has to do what he can, right?” Mithos smiled. I spent a short moment thinking about the fact that he was the second teenager to fuel the hope within me. The first was sitting next to me, all grown up. Imagine what the world could be like if every ‘bow was as naive and energetic as those teenagers. It would sure be a better place.

“Is Quince out again?” Mithos asked and brought me back to reality.

“Isn’t he always?” I nodded. “He should probably be back soon, though. He just went to say hey to Bluebell”

“Right, I’ll wait then” he said and sat down with us. He was not only Sundance’s hero and idol, he was also one of Quince’s best friends. Actually, Quince had met all of his friends except Bluebell through Mithos so it made a lot of sense.

While we waited, Mithos filled us in on the latest rumours and gossip about colorless and their rights. Apparantly, the support for Whites had been growing rapidly the past few weeks and just in the last two days we had gained 50 new members. The downside was, that for every new member we officially gained, the antagonists gained two. So even if we grew, it still wasn’t enough to put ruling thoughts and opinions to rest.

“Although, they obviously don’t know of the support we have here, within the walls” Mithos added and I felt a flicker of hope. There was still a chance.

Quince came back just a while later and by the sight of Mithos his face lit up in a big smile, which was instantly reflected. “Hey Quincie!” Mithos said and pucnhed him jokingly in the chest. The two of them were the best of friends.

I walked up to my oldest son and gave him a hug, “You look happy today”.

“I am” he said happily. “Thunderbird has the most awesome idea!”

We waited for him to continue and when he finally did I could barely believe my ears. I understood that it wouldn’t exactly be allowed and that it was something the four boys would have to work on in secret. They had to be very careful with this.

Maybe I should have said no. I probably should. But I didn’t, the possibilities it would bring for colorless was far too tempting. So instead I found myself supporting them. I promised I would help them get the pub going. It would be the perfect place for Whites and our supporters to hold meetings and plan for a better future. I was excited.

AN: Thunderbird is the red berry who came with Mithos to District 0 in the previous chapter.

So, Mallow’s generation is over. I consider the two nurseries built for the kids as the expansion to the house. While they may be minor I found it hard to do much else in this first generation. I also built the gym she’s using within the first days of game play. Her luxury roll was fulfilled with a luxury bathroom. 🙂 I’m sorry for not involving those two rolls more in the story. I’ll get better with that!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I’m happy she’s giving their plan a chance. I think it can bring out a lot in the boys, and I;m curious to see where it’ll take them on from here. The district rules are sometimes so sad to hear, and I actually feel bad, especially for the colorless. Hopefully they;ll be able to make a good change! Great chapter!

    Reply
  2. hey, I’ve just discovered your lgacy story and sat down and read it through. I love it! The plot is awesome (who can resist a downtrodden people and a rebellion? seriously? lol) and the characters are great also. Looking forwarn to the next chapter and finding more about the new plan!

    Reply
  3. Hi Fru, Hope you’re having a good day. Caught up on Mallow’s story and enjoyed it very much and congrats on Sundance being chosen heir. Hope that things work out for the colorless berries this time as they strive to bring a stop to Sim racism of the color variety. Look forward to the next generation.

    Silver

    Reply
    • Well done catching up! I’m glad you enjoyed it.
      Sundance is a real cutie-pie and I look forward to playing with him ad my main character.

      Reply
  4. Well i do hope this plan works out for them. They really need something good to happen now that they have gone through terrible times… loving the story so far.

    Reply
  5. I’m hoping this plan works out, too!

    Reply
  6. Aw, I’ll miss Mallow! But I can’t wait to see how the uprising goes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

