Chapter 1.2: Lonely

I could hear them talk behind my back. In fact, they talked in front of me too. The macho-berries (men, of course) who worked at the fire station found it silly, ridiculous and down right disgusting that someone like me had been offered a job there. The fact that I had been the most qualified applicant, both regarding education and physical capabilities seemed to go by un-noticed. What mattered was color, or rather, my lack of color and the fact that I was a girl.

They didn’t even budge by the fact that my father had been one of the most talented fire fighters in town. A hero, if you so wish. I knew I would follow his path, but there was no one else believing in me. Not even my mother. After the tragic event with my father she had followed his path and begged me to choose another job. One that wasn’t so dangerous. Little did she know, that the danger that came with the job was what pulled me there.

My father died in a big fire four years ago. He died a hero and have been grieved by the majority of ‘bows in town. Little Flax (who’s not so little anymore) and his parents constantly comes to my father’s grave to make sure it’s decorated okay. I’ve met them there several times, it’s almost as though they are my own family. Because my father saved Flax from a gruesome death in that fire, they seem to feel like they owe us something. I bet that’s why they accept me as a normal berry, even though I’m colorless.

I won’t lie though, I did feel like they were responsible for my father’s death for many years. I couldn’t stand seeing Flax grow and knowing that my father died, saving him. I’ve learned to accept that now and I know that if I got the opportunity, I would do the exact same thing. That’s the beauty with this job.

The first time the alarm sounded I almost choked on my sandwich. The adrenaline that instantly started rushing through my body is indescribable. We have no more than 90 seconds to get dressed, get in our trucks and be on our way from the moment the alarm sounds. I knew I’d manage it, but the rush that comes out of that pressure is amazing non-the-less. When we got to the right house we quickly figured it was only a small fire and that it would be easy enough to put it out. It was a good enough first mission, I’d say.

It was my hope that for every fire I helped distinguish I would prove, once and for all, that colorless berries are equals to colorful berries. Honestly, it’s unbelievable that such racism exist still today. I guess it also has to do with the fact that colorless berries feed it too, just by dressing in color. We should be proud of who we are. Maybe I can be a role-model, someone to look up to. I’ll be the new hero in town.

I’ve never really had any friends. Understandable, when you consider the fact that colorless berries usually are treated as though they have some disease. They all seem so scared, as if they were afraid that my lack of color would somehow infect them.

The thing was, though, that now that I had moved out from my mother’s home, it would easily get quite lonely. I had no-one to talk to. And so far, the other firefighters treated me just as they would treat any colorless sim. They simply ignored me and made sure to stay out of my way. It was the first time I found myself wishing I had a friend.

“I miss you dad” I stood by his grave and talked to him. I often came here to talk to him. He had, after all, been the best friend I’ve ever had. Even though he discouraged my firefighter dream, he had always stood up for me and believed in me. He was not only the hero in town, but also the hero in my life. “I hate how they ignore me. I wish you were here to tell me I’m valuable. Dad, I need you.”

“I could tell you that” a young man’s voice said and I noticed a pair of feet moving closer. As I looked up I saw Flax’s smiling face.

“Times are changing” he said. “Most people my age don’t agree with those old sayings. We know better.”

I smiled, it was rather cute with the naive teenagers. Their fate in future, their certainity in a changing world. “Thanks…”

“Look” he suddenly said in a much more eager tone and took a swirl in front of me. I don’t know how I could possibly have missed it. He was all dressed in white.

“Why?” I wondered, curiosity catching me.

“Many of us do it” he answered proud. “We’re making a statement… I think we are about… 15 already!” He was shining with pride. A colorful berry dressed in white, there was still lots for a woman’s eyes to see. I had never heard of anything of its kind. Colorless berries in color, sure. But this?

“It isn’t just teenagers” he continued, still with pride in his voice. “You should come! You could be like our leader!”

“I don’t think so Flax…” I said, knowing that I had my hands full with my new job and trying to get approved by my co-workers. “But I appreciate the gesture” I said and stood up. I waved him goodbye and started to make a leave.

“At least keep your eyes open!” He shouted after me. “You might notice lots of people dressing colorless!”

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. The start to another great story Fru!

    Reply
  2. Oooh! Looks like she’s not quite as alone as she thought.

    Reply
  3. Aww Flax is so cute. Nice to see a green berry in white!

    Reply
  4. Hi Fru,

    Just read the first two chapters of you’re story and enjoyed them very much. Will catch up a little at time as I’m getting ready to write my updates. Marshmallow is a very strong Sim, inspite of all the negativity around but am glad to see some of the colored berries taking a stand for her. Look forward to reading further and seeing how Flax fits into the story.

    Silver

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comment Silver! And good luck on your own story, I’ll be sure to check it out. 🙂

      I like Mallow because she differs a lot from Luna and it’s fun to write because of that. Don’t worry about catching up, I’m not very quick at updating so you’ll catch up eventually! Flax has quite the impact in the story, I hadn’t intended to give him such a big part, but sometimes the words just decide on their own. Lol.

      Reply
  5. Flax is cute. And while it may be naive, maybe he and others like him can change their society.
    I don’t know much about berries, I admit, but they seem awfully rigid about their color lines.

    Reply
    • Berries isn’t always racists but it’s usually rare with white sims except for the founders so that’s what I built the politics from.

      Reply
  6. Hooray! Seems like Mallow has a friend! Flax is cute. Maybe something more can develop there…

    Reply
  7. 101cat101

     /  August 2, 2014

    Honest to goodness, I’m usually not a fan of rainbowcys! But this is so unique and fantastic! Mallow is such a strong character! Can’t wait to keep reading! 🙂

    Allister Legacy: http://theallisterlegacy.wordpress.com/

    Reply
    • I’m glad you like it. Hope you keep liking the rest of it, I have tried to keep the storyline interesting and not just write for the sake of genetics. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Aurora family

- A Random Sims 3 Legacy

Harmony family

- a random rainbowcy

Sweet Treats

A DiFT inspired Rainbowcy

The Spires Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

Ar Leith - A Random Legacy

A Collaborative Random Legacy

A Dove of a Different Color

A Random Rainbowcy

Brannon Random Legacy

A Random Rainbowcy

The Radagast Family Legacy

My first try at The Random Legacy Challenge!

Simswhen

I'm Timothy, I'm 20 and I'll be sharing my Coleman Legacy with everyone.

Dancing On Rainbows

The Fantasy Rainbowcy

The Dubois Legacy

Follow The Dubois Family Through Love, Laughter & Tears

Fantasies in Color

A Supernatural Rainbowcy

The Lockwood Chronicle

The insanity arise...

Until Death do us Part

A The sims 3 Story

Picturesque Rainbowcy

A Picturesque Rainbowcy

The Rainbow Connection

My Rainbowcy DitFT for Sims 3

